Link to MyFlorida.com myFlorida tagline image   Skip to Global Links Skip to Search Skip to Main Navigation Skip to Content
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
background space filler
background space filler1
HSMV tab HSMV Home FHP tab Highway Patrol DL tab Driver Licenses MV tab Motor Vehicles Spanish tab Español 
background space filler2
background space filler3
background space filler4
background space filler5 Search HSMV
   

FHP Patch FHP Logo

Florida Traffic Law Updates

Young drivers face 'zero tolerance' as of January 1, 1997. Those under 21 years of age with a blood-alcohol level as low as 0.02% can lose their driver licenses at sobriety checkpoints, accident scenes and other roadside traffic stops.

Something to remember, it takes only one beer or mixed drink consumed in an hour for a 150-pound person to register over 0.02% on a breath test.

* * * * * * * * * *

All children younger than 16 years of age will need to wear a helmet while riding a bicycle. Children caught in 1997 will only get a safety brochure reminding them of the law, but $17 fines will go into effect on January 1, 1998.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Speeding Fines:

  • 1-5 miles over the posted speed limit Warning.
  • 6-9 miles over the posted speed limit $25.00 plus court costs.
  • 10-14 miles over the posted speed limit $100.00 plus court costs.
  • 15-19 miles over the posted speed limit $125.00 plus court costs.
  • 20-29 miles over the posted speed limit $150.00 plus court costs.
  • 30+ miles over the posted speed limit $250.00 plus court costs.

Speeding fines are doubled in school zones and construction zones.

* * * * * * * * * *

  • Moving Violations, such as running a red light or stop sign, violation of right-of-way, improper passing, etc. have increased to $60.00 plus court costs.

* * * * * * * * * * *

  • Child Restraint Violations - The fine for child restraint violations (under 6 years of age not restrained) is $60.00, plus $10.00 court costs, with three points assessed against the driver record. In lieu of the penalty and assessment of points, a person may elect, with the courts approval, to participate in a child restraint safety program approved by the Chief Judge of the Circuit in which the violation occurred. Upon completion of the program the penalty and points can be waived.


If you need to contact the Patrol for questions not answered here,
please contact your nearest Florida Highway Patrol Station.


Return to Florida Law Links

background space filler6
FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   Mission    Site Map  

 
Return to Top