Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

Become a Part of
Pride and Tradition

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Career Opportunities

Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary

What is the Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary?
The Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary is a group of civilian individuals throughout Florida, dedicated to serving the Highway Patrol and assisting Florida State Troopers in performing the duties and responsibilities of law enforcement. The Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary is authorized by Florida State Statute Chapter 321, and is overseen by a Captain of the Florida Highway Patrol that acts as Auxiliary Coordinator. Each unit of the Auxiliary is supervised by a State Trooper who comes under the purview of the Troop Commander of each troop.

Auxiliary officers assist the Florida Highway Patrol in the performance of its which include: patrolling the streets and highways of the state, participating in vehicle equipment and license checkpoints, operating the Florida Highway Patrol Breath Alcohol Testing Unit (BAT mobile), and participating in specialized details relevant to traffic related matter.

The Auxiliary is composed of men and women from a myriad of walks of life, who donate their time and effort to make the tremendous task of law enforcement safer and more effective for the State Trooper on the road. Members of the Auxiliary are not compensated in any way, and the Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary is a separate, non-profit entity of the Florida Highway Patrol.

What are the powers of an Auxiliary Officer?
As an Auxiliary Officer, you do not enjoy the broad police powers of a regular Florida State Trooper. You do not have the powers of arrest. You do have the power to bear arms and arrest under the direct supervision of a regularly constituted member of the Florida Highway Patrol. Enforcement action without the presence of a Florida State Trooper is not permitted, on or off duty.

What Training is Required of Auxiliary Officers?
Florida State Statutes and The Florida Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission requires that every member of the Auxiliary execute a minimum of 97 hours of Law Enforcement training at a state approved training center by state certified instructors. The training that one receives includes subjects such as: Criminal Law, Traffic Law, Search and Seizure Law, Court Testimony, Accident Investigation, Firearms Training, First Aid, Self Defense, Report Writing, Human and Public Relations, and many other areas that will enable a civilian to provide assistance to the Law Enforcement Officer. Training can be gained locally from either local community colleges or from approved courses offered by the Florida Highway Patrol. All tuition is the responsibility of the member.

There's More...

How do I join the Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary?
Each person who applies to become a member of the Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary must make a formal application, undergo a physical examination, and thorough background investigation including a polygraph test. Each applicant must be a U.S. citizen, at least 19 years of age, have a high school diploma or a G.E.D.,be in good standing financially and morally, and be in good physical health. Applications can only be accepted in person in conjunction with a personal interview. Each month a "prospective members meeting" is held at your local Florida Highway Patrol station. Appointments are not necessary, and all interested individuals are welcome.

Apply Today! For more information about the Florida Highway Patrol Auxiliary, visit their website at: www.floridastatetrooper.org.

 

 
FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida