
REPORT FRAUD 
CALL 1-800-378-0445 

Department of Financial Services 

"Fake Crash = 
Real Time" 

 

If you participate in a 
staged accident, 

You face a minimum 
of two (2) years to 

fifteen (15) years in 
prison. 

File a false claim with 
your insurance 

company and you will 
go to jail. 

 

Insurance Fraud - 
it's not worth it! 

 

FRAUD ALERT PIP FRAUD 

Division of 
Insurance Fraud 

ALLEGATIONS OF FRAUD CAN BE 
REPORTED DIRECTLY TO DIVISION 
OFFICES LOCATED IN THESE REGIONS: 

 
PANHANDLE REGION 

Pensacola – 850.453.7802 

Tallahassee – 850.413.3115 

NORTH REGION 
Jacksonville – 904.798.5802 

Ocala – 352.369.2871 

WE S T  C E NT R AL  R E G ION 

Tampa – 813.972.8602 

St. Petersburg – 727.563.1142 

Fort Myers – 239.278.7527 

E AS T  C E NT R AL  R E G ION 

West Palm Beach – 561.837.5601 

Orlando – 407.385.4402 

SOUTH REGION 
Miami – 305.536.0302 

Plantation – 954.321.2902 

 

 

 JEFF ATWATER 
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 

STATE OF FLORIDA 

 



 

PIP FRAUD IS A CRIME 
Think a fake auto accident is a harmless prank?  
Think again. 

Think nobody gets hurt when you file a false claim?  
Think again. 

PIP Fraud is a serious crime with consequences. 

When someone commits auto insurance fraud, you 
pay the price.  Auto insurance fraud can cost you 
and your family as much as $250 a year in higher 
insurance costs. 

Every day in Florida, fake auto accidents result in 
millions of dollars in fake insurance claims being 
paid.  Who pays for these claims?  You do – in the 
form of higher insurance premiums. 

But you can fight back.  Join us in a statewide effort 
to Fight Fraud in Florida: 

If someone offers to pay you to fake an injury; 

If someone offers to pay you to fake an auto 
accident; 

If someone offers to pay you to file a fake 
insurance claim; 

Call the Florida Department of Financial Services 
Fraud Reward Program at 

1-800-378-0445 
 

    Division of Insurance Fraud                        MyFloridaCFO.com/fraud                          Division of Insurance Fraud 

KNOW YOUR PIP FRAUD 
What does auto insurance fraud look like? 

- Making, selling or using a fake insurance card 

- Making a false application for auto insurance 

- A fake car accident or fake crash report 

- A claim seeking payment for fake injuries 

- Asking for payment to go to a clinic 

- Tow truck driver referring you to a clinic for treatment 

Have you been offered money to: 

- Participate in a fake accident? 

- Pretend to have injuries from a car accident? 

- Go to a clinic for treatment after a car accident? 

- Sign for treatment that you did not receive at a clinic? 

- Add your name to a crash report? 

- Use your medical license to pose as the owner of a 
clinic you don’t own? 

- File a fraudulent insurance claim? 

All of these activities are felony crimes in Florida, and the 
Division of Insurance Fraud is dedicated to pursuing 
those who take part in this activity.  

If you report this type of activity, you could be rewarded 
up to $25,000 if your information helps lead to an arrest 
and conviction. 

If you participate in any of these schemes, you could be 
eligible for a ride to jail. 

We also work closely with our partners at the National 
Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB).  You can visit their 
website for more information at www.nicb.org. 

A NEW APPROACH 
 
The Division of Insurance Fraud has 8 dedicated PIP 
squads and more than 40 detectives to rein in these 
crimes and arrest the persons involved in fraud. 

Florida now has dedicated prosecutors throughout the 
state to handle PIP fraud, and the Courts are sentencing 
persons convicted of insurance fraud to prison. 

Our goal is to promote a level of consistency in 
prosecutions to take a tougher stand against fraud, and 
impose harsher sanctions, including jail, fines, and 
licensing sanctions. 

We are working to increase public awareness of 
insurance fraud, the seriousness of this crime and its 
impact on the community as a whole, and educate 
people about the potential penalties they face for 
participating in this activity. 

The Division of Insurance Fraud will pay up to $25,000 
reward for information leading to the arrest and 
conviction of persons involved in insurance fraud. 

 

 

 

 

 

Additional copies of this brochure can be requested, 
free of charge, by sending an e-mail to 
ThePIPSource@myfloridacfo.com or by calling 305-
536-0370. 
 You can also find a pdf version of this brochure 
that you can download at our website – go to 
myfloridacfo.com/fraud for more details. 
 

Read our newsletter   
The PIP Source each 
and every month for 
more information about 
the Division of Insurance 
Fraud and PIP.  Learn 
about the types of fraud 
that exist in the State of 
Florida and get details 
about investigations and 
arrests of the criminals 
involved in PIP fraud. 
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