Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

Trooper of the Month
February 2003

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Troopers of the Month/2002-2004
Troopers of the Month
Trooper Recognition

Trooper Menzies
Trooper Kristi Menzies
Troop F - Bradenton

Congratulations to Trooper Kristi Menzies for being selected as recipient of the Florida Highway Patrol Trooper of the Month award for February 2003, based on her life-saving actions in preventing a potential suicide victim from jumping off the Sunshine Skyway Bridge.

On Friday, February 28, 2003, during the early morning rush hour traffic, Trooper Menzies responded to the scene of an attempted suicide on the Skyway Bridge. Upon her arrival, Trooper Menzies was able to make contact with the attempted suicide subject, Izra James Richard Nowitzke, who was located on top of the center span bridge support cable approximately 50 feet above the roadway. Through her efforts, Trooper Menzies was able to build a rapport with the subject and learn that he was despondent over past and present events in his personal life, which resulted in his threat of attempted suicide. Trooper Menzies successfully established dialogue with him for over two hours until the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office responded with a trained negotiator. Approximately 45 minutes after the negotiator arrived, Mr. Nowitzke voluntarily came down to the roadway and was no longer threatening to jump. According to the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office lead negotiator, Detective Todd Anthony, Trooper Menzie’s efforts were instrumental in the positive outcome of this incident-the saving of a human life!

Trooper Menzies acted in the highest tradition of the Florida Highway Patrol, and is hereby commended for her actions.

FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida