Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

FHP Honors Top DUI Enforcement Trooper

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Main Gallery
Troop A
Troop B
Troop C
Troop D
Troop E
Troop F
Troop G
Troop H
Troop K
Troop L
FHP Training Academy
FHP Training Academy Class Photos
FHP Training Academy Class Activities
Occupant Protection & Child Passenger Safety
Contraband Interdiction Program

Trooper Ronald J. Evans Jr. receives distinguished award
Trooper Ronald J. Evans Jr. receives distinguished award.

The Florida Highway Patrol recently awarded Trooper Ronald J. Evans Jr. the Hurd-Smith award for 2008. The award recognizes the trooper who leads FHP in Driving Under the Influence arrests for the year. Evans, stationed in Land O’Lakes, made 187 DUI arrests last year. This was not the first time the Patrol recognized him for his extraordinary DUI enforcement efforts. In 2004, he garnered the Hurd-Smith award after making 300 DUI arrests.

Trooper Evans is presented DUI 100 Club Certificate from Colonel Czernis and HSMV Executive Director Bustle.

“Trooper Evans worked hard to protect the citizens of Florida from drunk drivers,” said Colonel John Czernis, director of the Florida Highway Patrol. “We are proud to honor him with this well deserved award.”

The Florida Highway Patrol named the Hurd-Smith award, which distinguishes the trooper who makes the most DUI arrests for the year, in honor of two troopers who were killed in the line of duty by drunk drivers.

Trooper Kimberly Hurd served the people of Florida for six years. Her career with FHP began May 5, 1986. On July 16, 1992, Hurd was conducting a traffic stop on Interstate 95 in Ft. Lauderdale when a passing van struck and killed her. The intoxicated driver fled the scene, but was later apprehended and convicted. At the time of her death, she was 26 years old.

Trooper Robbie Smith served the people of Florida for four years. His career with FHP began Jan. 4, 1993. On July 26, 1997, Smith was in his patrol car in the emergency lane of I-95 in Miami after completing a traffic stop when a drunk driver travelling at an excessive speed struck his car from behind. At the time of his death, he was 34.

DUI 100 Club winners with Col. Czernis and Exec. Dir. Bustle.

The Florida Highway Patrol recognized nine other troopers from across the state for their efforts to remove impaired drivers from the roadways by making more than 100 DUI arrests for 2008.

# of Arrests Honorees Troop
160 Trooper Wesley Harsey A
153 Trooper David Frye A
149 Trooper Terry Goswick C
141 Trooper Greg Healy G
117 Trooper Jacob Vaughn D
110 Trooper Deborah Hawkins D
108 Trooper Adam Morris C
105 Trooper Jason Brooks D
101 Trooper Sean McCormick F

Additional Photos


FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida