Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

2007 DUI 100 Club Awards

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Main Gallery
Troop A
Troop B
Troop C
Troop D
Troop E
Troop F
Troop G
Troop H
Troop K
Troop L
FHP Training Academy
FHP Training Academy Class Photos
FHP Training Academy Class Activities
Occupant Protection & Child Passenger Safety
Contraband Interdiction Program

Colonel Knight and DHSMV Executive Director Bustle in photo op with 2007 DUI 100 Club Winners
Colonel Christopher Knight and DHSMV Executive Director Electra Bustle
take a photo opportunity with 2007 DUI 100 Club Winners

On April 23, 2007, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) recognized and awarded Florida law enforcement officers who arrested 100 or more drunk drivers during 2006. A special award ceremony was held on the steps of the Old Capitol building where members from MADD publicly thanked law enforcement officers for their efforts all across the state. Among the recipients of this year's Top DUI Awards were 20 of our own FHP troopers--all with over 100 DUI arrests this past year.

Trooper Jacob Vaughn - 139 Arrests

Trooper Deano Kates-Paulus - 128 Arrests

Trooper Michael S. Eyes - 126 Arrests

Trooper Deborah Hawkins - 124 Arrests

Trooper Gregory Healy - 124 Arrests

Trooper Gregory Elias - 122 Arrests

Trooper Anthony W. Palese - 120 Arrests

Trooper Richard A. Moore - 115 Arrests

Trooper Jeffery Lotter - 115 Arrests

Trooper Robert W. Harrigill - 112 Arrests

Trooper Daniel O. Cruz - 112 Arrests

Corporal Douglas A. Guy - 112 Arrests

Trooper Thomas Winders - 111 Arrests

Sergeant James S. Gaskins - 110 Arrests

Trooper Terry E. Goswick - 109 Arrests

Trooper Kyle Barron - 106 Arrests

Trooper Frederick Hall - 105 Arrests

Trooper Gregory S. Taylor - 104 Arrests

Trooper Michael P. Sutherland - 102 Arrests

Trooper Leonard Yuknavage - 100 Arrests

MADD also hosted a luncheon at the Tallahassee-Leon County Civic Center where all of the law enforcement honorees received a beautiful crystal award. The highlight of the ceremony was the presentation of the Patrol's highest DUI award, the Hurd-Smith Award This special award honors Trooper Kimberly Hurd and Trooper Robbie Smith, who were tragically killed by drunk drivers in two separate incidents. This year's award was presented by Colonel Christopher Knight to Trooper Jacob Vaughn for his 139 DUI arrests.

Following the press conference and luncheon, Colonel Knight presented the troopers with DUI 100 Club plaques at an agency ceremony held at FHP General Headquarters. Family, friends, and FHP staff were in attendance to congratulate the honorees.

Colonel Knight and the 2007 Award Winners on the steps of the Capitol.
Colonel Knight and the 2007 Award Winners
on the steps of the Capitol.

Governor Crist speaks at the luncheon.
Governor Charlie Crist speaks at the luncheon.

The 20 troopers honored by MADD and the Florida Highway Patrol arrested collectively a total of 2,296 drunk drivers, up from 1,522 in 2005. These troopers are to be commended for their dedication and commitment and continued efforts to remove impaired drivers from our highways.

Additional Photos


FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida