Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

Governor recognizes troopers of the year

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Main Gallery
Troop A
Troop B
Troop C
Troop D
Troop E
Troop F
Troop G
Troop H
Troop K
Troop L
FHP Training Academy
FHP Training Academy Class Photos
FHP Training Academy Class Activities
Occupant Protection & Child Passenger Safety
Contraband Interdiction Program

Published on Thursday, August 17, 2006
in the Tallahassee Democrat

The Florida Highway Patrol has named Troopers Carlos R. Austin and Jorge L. Lopez-Torres as co-recipients of the 2006 Trooper of the Year award.

Austin and Lopez-Torres will be recognized by Gov. Jeb Bush and Cabinet members during today's Florida Cabinet meeting. The Florida Petroleum Council has sponsored the Trooper of the Year Award since 1965. The award is presented annually in recognition of heroism or exceptional performance.

Austin and Lopez-Torres were selected based on the following incident: On May 10, 2005, about 10 a.m., the troopers responded to a head-on crash that occurred on the Sawgrass Expressway in Broward County involving a pickup and a dump truck.

Both vehicles ended up submerged in a canal. With the assistance of passersby, Austin and Lopez-Torres entered the water to free the dump truck driver from the vehicle and rescued him. CPR was successfully administered before the arrival of emergency services personnel.

Austin is a four-year veteran of the FHP assigned to Troop K-Plantation. Lopez-Torres is a seven-year veteran, assigned to Troop K-Plantation.

FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida