Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations
FHP Logo

Miami Troopers Receive Awards

FHP Door Seal

FHP Home
Main Gallery
Troop A
Troop B
Troop C
Troop D
Troop E
Troop F
Troop G
Troop H
Troop K
Troop L
FHP Training Academy
FHP Training Academy Class Photos
FHP Training Academy Class Activities
Occupant Protection & Child Passenger Safety
Contraband Interdiction Program

Trooper Otero and Trooper Lola
Trooper Margaro Otero and Trooper Rafael Lola

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle’s Advisory Council hosted the 4th Annual Driver License Member and Florida Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year Luncheon at El Alcazar Restaurant in Miami-Dade County on Monday, October 14, 2002.

DHSMV’s Advisory Council Chairman Manuel Villamanan, Executive Director Fred Dickinson, and Colonel Chris Knight, presented the Miami-Dade County Trooper of the Year Award to Trooper Margaro Otero Jr. Trooper Otero received this award for his life saving efforts when he administered CPR to a woman who had suffered a heart attack. His quick thinking and professional actions saved this person’s life. DHSMV’s Advisory Council awarded Trooper Otero with a Plaque, a check for $1,000, and a free weekend stay at any Hilton Hotel in the continental United States.

The first runner for the award, Trooper Rafael Lola, received recognition for intervening in a violent domestic altercation incident and arresting the aggressor. DHSMV’s Advisory Council awarded Trooper Lola a plaque, a check for $100, and two tickets to the Miami Dolphins vs. Buffalo Bills football game in Miami. Coincidently, Trooper Lola was the first recipient of the Trooper of the Year Award (Miami) in 1996. Both Troopers Otero and Lola were accompanied by their wives.

HSMV Members with awards

DHSMV’s Advisory Council members also awarded several members of the Division of Driver License with similar awards.

DHSMV’s Miami-Dade County Advisory Council Members are: Chairman Manuel Villamanan, Vice Chairman J.L. Plummer, Secretary Eddie Silva, Fernando Albuerne, Carlos J. Arbolyea, Frank Bango, Jose Cancela, Mikki Canton, Miguel A. Fernandez Chardiet, Olando Martinez deCastro, Julio Gonzalez-Rebuil Sr., Adan A. Jimeno, Manny Rodriguez, Rafael A. Sanchez, and Michael A. Stein.


FHP Station Address & Phone Numbers   |    Regional Communications Centers   |    Mission   |    A - Z Guide

Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida