The Florida Highway Patrol, Bureau of Commercial Vehicle Enforcement (CVE), and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), have implemented a Motor Carrier Registration Program for Interstate and Intrastate motor carriers. By law, your company is required to obtain a USDOT number and display it on all your commercial motor vehicles (CMVs). Once you receive the DOT number, it must be affixed on both sides of the power unit, in a color contrasting with the background of the vehicle, and the numbers must be large enough to be legible from fifty feet from the vehicle.
If you operate outside Florida, transporting persons or property across state lines, including international boundaries, or within Florida as part of a through movement that originates or terminates in another state or country, you must obtain aninterstate USDOT number. *Please contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration at 1-800-832-5660 or www.fmcsa.dot.gov for registration requirements.
If you operate only within the confines of the State of Florida, transporting persons or property, you must obtain an intrastate USDOT number. This number will be clearly recognized by the “FL” suffix. The information below is provided to assist you with this process. *Please see “Requirements and Exemptions” listed below.
To register on-line for either an interstateor intrastate (Florida) USDOT number visit FMCSA's website located at https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ There is no fee for applying for a USDOT number, however a Visa or MasterCard must be provided to ensure a digital signature is on file for the official record. Applications must be completed in their entirety. Carrier profile updates, including added or deleted equipment or drivers, changes is cargo classification or company officers/owners, or changes in address or phone numbers of the motor carrier, must be done as they occur, but in all cases is required every two (2) years. If you should have any questions, or experience problems completing the on-line DOT number process, you may call, 1/800-832-5660 or email@example.com for assistance.
Failure to register and obtain the above DOT number and clearly display the number on all trucks owned or operated by the carrier will subject the carrier to civil penalties to include:
A $500.00 fine per occurrence for operating without registering for an interstate or intrastate DOT number pursuant to F.S.
A $50.00 fine per occurrence for operating a vehicle without the DOT number displayed pursuant to F.S.
If you are applying for an intrastate number only and do not wish to apply online, you may print a hardcopy of the application and mail it to the following address:
Florida Highway Patrol
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
Florida DOT Numbers
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 41
Tallahassee, FL 32399
or fax the completed application to (850) 617-5150.
Application and Instructions for a Florida USDOT Number
(DOC format 89kb)
(PDF format 236kb)
You can also request an application by phone at 850-617-2282
Motor carriers registering with
Florida only need to fill out one form (one per company - not per vehicle).
There is no cost for obtaining a USDOT number. Once your application is received and processed, a letter assigning a Florida USDOT number, along with information on how it is to be displayed on all applicable vehicles, will be returned to you. This process will take approximately 2-3 weeks. Please keep a copy of your USDOT number application in all applicable vehicles until the number is received from our office.
The Florida Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carrier Compliance, on March 1,1999, implemented a new Motor Carrier Registration Program for Intrastate motor carriers. Your company is now required to obtain a USDOT number and display it on all your commercial motor vehicles (CMV's) if your company operates a CMV that:
- has a declared gross vehicle weight of 26,001 lbs or more;
- transports hazardous materials requiring placarding;
- transports hazardous materials in a vehicle with a gross weight rating of 10,001 lbs or more; and/or
- is designed to transport more than 10 passengers, including the driver, for compensation.
This requirement is not limited to "trucking
companies". A motor carrier is any commercial enterprise that uses
such vehicles in the furtherance of its business. If your company
operates a commercial vehicle, you are subject to Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations, which includes obtaining and displaying
a USDOT number. These regulations were adopted in
Exceptions for Registering are:
Motor carriers operating solely intrastate when transporting agricultural, including horticultural or forestry products, from farm or harvest place to the first place of processing or storage, or from farm or harvest place directly to market.
Motor carriers operating solely intrastate when their vehicles have a declared gross vehicle weight rating under 26,000 lbs., and transport petroleum products, as defined in Section 376.301, Florida
Statutes. (Section 376.301, Florida Statutes, defines "petroleum
products" as "...any liquid fuel commodity made from petroleum, including, but not limited to, all forms of fuel known or sold as diesel fuel, kerosene, all forms of fuel known or sold as gasoline, and fuels containing a mixture of gasoline and other products...")
Interstate motor carriers, since they should already have a USDOT number. Interstate motor carriers needing more information about USDOT numbers should call 1-800-832-5660. Motor carriers that operate in interstate commerce may use this form to apply for a USDOT number. However, please send the form for interstate USDOT numbers to: US Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carrier Safety, Information Analysis, HIA-10, 400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington, DC, 20590.
In addition, as of January 1, 2003, all new Intrastate motor carriers (private and for-hire) are subject to the new entrant safety monitoring procedures for a period of 18 months. During this period your roadside safety performance will be closely monitored to ensure that basic safety management controls are in place and operating effectively. It is required that a company official responsible for the implementation of your safety program attend a New Entrant Safety Seminar within 180 days of the issuance of your USDOT Identification Number. Failure to attend a New Entrant Safety Seminar within 180 days shall subject your company to a Compliance Review of your transportation operations to determine compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, applicable Hazardous Materials Regulations, and related record-keeping requirements, and all penalties for violations that may be found.
New Entrant Schedule Jul-Dec 2014 (pdf)
New Entrant Schedule Jan-Jun 2015 (pdf)
New Entrant Schedule Jul-Dec 2015 (pdf)
Carriers should be aware that Florida prohibits the operation of all vehicles owned, leased, or otherwise operated by any carrier that is the subject of an active out-of-service order issued by the FMCSA or any other state FHP-CVE jurisdiction. Therefore, changing a carrier's operating status from interstate to intrastate in Florida will subject the owners/operators of the carrier to civil and criminal penalties found in F.S. 316.3026(2).