
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATIO N 
OFFICE OF MOTOR CARRIER COMPLIANCE 

1815 THOMASVILLE ROA D 
TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 3230 3-5750 

850-488-7920, FAX 850-922-6798 
 

SURETY BOND INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
 

THE ACCOMPANYING FORM MUST BE TAKEN TO AN INSURANCE AGENCY, BONDING AGENCY 
OR SURETY COMPANY FOR COMPLETION. 

 
   Rule Chapter 1 4-87, Florida  
Administrative Code, commonly referred to as  
the “Bond Rule ”, establish es procedures for the 
payment of civil penalties and fee assessments 
for commercial motor vehicles which violate the 
statutory provisions for weight , load, size,  
safety, vehicle registration, and fuel taxes, in  
accordance with applicable sections of Chapt er 
316, Florida Statutes.  Penalties and fee  
assessments are cited by officers and inspectors 
of the Florida Department of  Transportation,  
Motor Carrier Compliance Office, on the  
following documents : 
1) Load Report and Field Receip t  

(Form 50 9-13) 
2) Safety Report and Field Receip t  
  (Form 50 9-23) 
3) IRP Trip Permit & Temporary Fuel Use Permi t  

(Form HSMV – 85052) 
 Penalties and fees imposed upon  
vehicles are due and payable upon the issuance 
of a citation or a permit.  Penalties and fees not 
guaranteed b y a Surety Bond must be paid to  
the officer or inspector issuing the citation or  
permit prior to further operation of the vehicle on 
the roads of this State.  Payment may be in  
cash, by cashier ’s check or by money order.   
Company checks may be accepted whe n a 
proper Surety Bond is on file.  When a Surety  
Bond has been properly filed and accepted by  
the Department, a citation and/or permit will be  
issued to the owner or driver of the vehicle, and 
the vehicle will be allowed to proceed.  Payment 
must be remit ted to the officer or inspector who 
issued the citation or permit within ten (10)  
working days of the date of issuance . 
 The Surety Bond filed with the  
Department is to guarantee payment of  
penalties and fees.  The minimum face amount 
of a Surety Bond requ ired for persons or firms  
holding special permits is Ten Thousand Dollars 
($10,000); for all other persons and firms, the  
minimum face amount of a Surety Bond is  
Seven Thousand Dollars ($7,000).  The Surety  
Bond shall be payable to the Governor of the  
State of Florida; underwritten by a Surety  
authorized by the Florida Department of  
Insurance to do business in this State; and must 
bear the signature or countersignature of a  
Florida resident agent of the Surety. The bond  
shall guarantee payment of penalties and fees  
incurred by the insured up to the face amount of 
the bond.  When properly filed and accepted, the 

bond will become effective fifteen (15) days after 
actual receipt by the Director.  Notice will be  
provided to the Principal acknowledging receipt  
of the bond and stating the effective date . 
 An association may file a bond to  
guarantee payment of penalties and fees  
assessed against vehicles operated by its  
members.  The face amount of the bond must  
be the greater of Ten Thousand Dollars  
($10,000) or th e average monthly penalties and 
fees assessed against the aggregate  
membership during the last fiscal year.  A list of 
participating members must be provided at the  
time the bond is filed.  The association must  
notify the Director at the address on the fac e of 
the bond by certified mail, return receipt, of any 
additions or deletions to the membership  
covered by the bond at least thirty (30) days  
prior to any change in membership status  
becoming effective . 
 The Department must be provided thirty 
(30) days no tice prior to the amendment,  
cancellation or no n-renewal of any Surety Bond.  
Notice must be sent to the Director at the  
address on the face of the bond by certified mail, 
return receipt, and the 3 0-day notice period shall 
commence on the date of actual re ceipt of the  
notice by the Director Any amendment,  
cancellation or no n-renewal of a Bond shall not 
affect any liability incurred or accrued prior to the 
effective date of the amendment, cancellation or 
no n-renewal . 
 If a Principal fails to comply with the  
penalty and fee payment procedure and causes 
payment to be made by the Surety, the  
Department may thereafter refuse to allow the  
payment of penalties and fee assessments . 
 In the event the face amount of the bond 
is exceeded by the amount of the penalties and 
fees assessed or by an aggregate of penalties  
and fees assessed against the Principal, the  
bond shall be rendered invalid and payment  
shall be due and payable upon the issuance of  
the citation or permit . 
 
IMPORTANT 
 
Submission of an improper bond or a bond 
without necessary documents and/or information 
will result in delaying the effective date of the  
bond.  Upon completion of a Surety Bond, the  
yellow copy should be retained by the Surety or 
Insurance Agent, the pink copy should be  
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retained by the Prin cipal or Owner, and the  
ORIGINAL BOND with the original POWER OF 
ATTORNEY, and the CONTACT  
INFORMATION FORM MUST BE MAILED to  
the address above . 
 
* CONTACT INFORMATION FORM – contains 
names and telephone numbers of persons  
(employed by the Principal) who c an verify  
equipment and drivers.  The contacts must be  
available during normal business hours (8am  – 
5pm ET) and any time vehicles covered by the 
bond may operate before or after such business 
hours on Florida highways . 
 
NEW SURETY BONDS, ALL  
CANCELLATIONS , ALL REINSTATEMENTS,  
AND ALL RIDERS AMENDING ANY  
INFORMATION ON AN ORIGINAL BOND  
MUST BE MAILED TO THIS OFFICE AT THE  
ADDRESS ABOVE.  Renewals and Continuatins 
are not required, but may be filed with this office.  
Additionally, this office must be notifie d of any  
change of address . 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF SURETY BOND (FORM 509-21) 
 

1) Enter bond number assigned by the Surety . 

2) LEAVE BLAN K – TO BE COMPLETED BY MOTOR CARRIER COMPLIANC E 

3) Enter Principal ’s name . 

4) Enter Principal ’s telephone number, including area code . 

5) Enter Principal ’s mailing and physical addresses, including zip code . 

6) Enter Surety company ’s name . 

7) Enter Surety company ’s address, including zip code, to which correspondence regarding the bond 
should be mailed . 

8) Enter the state in which the Surety is incorporated . 

9) Spell out the dollar amount for which Principal is being bonded . 
(Example: “SEVEN THOUSAND or “TEN THOUSAND”) 

10) Enter numerical amount for which Principal is being bonded . 
(Example: “7,000” or “10,000”) 

11) 

a. Enter date of current month . 

b. Enter current month . 

c. Enter current year . 
 

12) Enter Principal ’s name as it appears on Line #3 . 

13) Obtain signature of the President (if Principal is a corporation), Executive Director (if Principal i s an 
association), or Owner (if Principal is an individual) . 

14) Obtain signature of the Secretary, Assistant Secretary or other Officer (if Principal is a corporation 
or an association), or a Witness to the Owner ’s signature (if Principal is an individua l). 

15) Enter Surety company name as it appears on Line #6 . 

16) Signatures of Surety ’s authorized representative executing the Bond . 

17) Obtain signature of Florida Resident Agent of Surety . 

 
**COMPLETED BOND (ORIGINAL) MUST BE MAILED TO ADDRESS ABOVE.** 
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CONTACT INFORMATION FORM 
 

 
Submission of an improper bond or a bond with necessary documents and/or information will result in  
delaying the effective date of the bond.  Upon completion of a Surety Bond, the yellow copy should be 
retained by the Suret y or Insurance Agent, the pink copy should be retained by the Principal or Owner, 
and th e ORIGINAL BOND WITH THE ORIGINAL POWER OF ATTORNEY MUST BE MAILED TO THE 
ADDRESS ABOVE. 
 
Names and telephone numbers of persons (employed by the Principal) who can ver ify equipment and  
drivers must e provided.  These contacts must be available during normal business hours (8a m-5pm ET) 
an any time vehicles covered by the bond may operate before or after such business hours on Florida 
highways . 
 
NEW SURETY BONDS, ALL CANCELLATIONS, ALL REINSTATEMENTS, AND ALL RIDERS 
AMEENDING ANY INFORMATION ON AN ORIGINAL BOND MUST BE MAILED TO THIS OFFICE AT 
THE ADDRESS ABOVE.  Renewals and Continuations are not required, but may be filed.  This office 
must be notified of any change of a ddress . 
 
Copies of this form may be made and used in the future for updating information on file with this office 
when a change of address occurs or when contacts and/or telephone numbers change . 
  

PRINCIPAL INFORMATION: 
NAME:  
PHYSICAL ADDRESS:  
CITY/STATE/ZIP:  
MAILING ADDRESS:  
CITY/STATE/ZIP:  
  

CONTACT NAME(S): TELEPHONE NUMBER(S): 
  
  
   

  
SURETY INFORMATION: 

NAME:  
MAILING ADDRESS:  
CITY/STATE/ZIP:  
TELEPHONE NUMBER:  
  

INSURANCE AGENT INFORMATION: 
NAME:  
MAILING ADDRESS:  
CITY/STATE/ZIP:  
TELEPHONE NUMBER:  
  
  
 


