Florida’s NEW Driver License and ID Card

Designation Fees & Required Documentation

safe secure convenient florida's new driver license and id card

Individuals who qualify for a credential designation may obtain the newly-designed credential with certain fees waived. Credentials that have reached their required renewal period or have been lost are not eligible for a fee-waiver when adding designations to a new credential. To add a designation and receive the newly-designed credential, visit a local service center.

Designation Fees
An additional $6.25 tax collector convenience fee may apply to any credential issued in a tax collector office.
DesignationAdding Designation(s) to the following Credentials:
  • Original DL or ID
  • Renewal DL or ID
  • Replacement DL or ID with a Name, Address, or Other Requested Change
  • Replacement for a Lost DL or ID
Replacing a Credential for the Sole Purpose of Adding Designations (no other changes)Required Documentation
Deaf/Hard of Hearing
DHSMV Issuance Fees + $1
$3 total
None
Developmentally Disabled
DHSMV Issuance Fees + $1
$1 total
Completed Application for Identification Card with Developmental Disability Designation (HSMV 72120)
FWC Lifetime Designations
(One or multiple per transaction)
DHSMV Issuance Fees + $1
$3 total
Physical FWC lifetime license
Insulin Dependent
DHSMV Issuance Fees
(No Extra Designation Fee)

DHSMV Replacement Fee
(No Extra Designation Fee)

None
Organ Donor
DHSMV Issuance Fees
(No Extra Designation Fee)

DHSMV Replacement Fee
(No Extra Designation Fee)

None
Veteran
DHSMV Issuance Fees + $1
$3 total
Physical Copy of DD Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense, or other acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs

Fees for driver license and motor vehicle services are established in Florida Law. Please review the department’s fee schedule list for all current motorist services fees.