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DATE: 06/23/2015 
 

Technical Advisory 
DL15-012 and  
RS/TL15-012 

 

SUBJECT: Legislative Changes For Driver Licenses, Motor Vehicles, 
and Records Effective July 1, 2015 

 
 
Overview: 
 
The 2015 Legislature passed various bills resulting in changes to driver license and motor vehicle laws, 
which become effective July 1, 2015. 
 

Driver Licenses:  
 
Sections 322.21(1)(e) and (f)3., F.S., passed during the 2009 Legislative Session.  Currently, the $25.00 
Replacement Driver License fee distributes $7.00 to the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund (HSOTF) 
and the remaining $18.00, to the General Revenue Fund (GR).  The $25.00 Replacement Identification 
Card fee distributes $9.00 to the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund (HSOTF) and the remaining 
$16.00 to the General Revenue Fund (GR). 
 
Beginning July 1, 2015, fully transitioned Tax Collector counties will retain $7.00 of the $25.00 
Replacement Driver License fee and $9.00 of the $25.00 Replacement ID Card fee.  The new distribution 
applies to replacement issuances made by every office within a fully transitioned county.  The 
distribution of the remaining funds will be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.  
 
Sections 322.051(8)(b), 322.14(1)(c) 322.051(1)(1), 322.08(2)(a), (HB 27), amending the veteran 
designation on a Florida driver license or an identification card.  Currently, the letter “V” is displayed on 
the driver license/identification card.  Although it becomes law on July 1, 2015, the change will be 
implemented as part of the next driver license contract, when new designs for the credentials are 
developed.   Under the new contract, “Veteran” will be displayed after payment and presentation of a 
DD Form 214.  In addition to the credential updates, the following will be accomplished in conjunction 
with the update: 
 

• A Technical Advisory regarding this update will be sent statewide  
• The Driver License Operations Manual, LR24-US Veterans section, and the Florida 

Driver’s Handbook will be updated when the credentials have been redesigned.   
 

 

TECHNICAL ADVISORY 
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This bill also provides for acceptance of the military identification card as proof of the social security 
number for customers applying for a Florida driver license or identification card.  Individuals presenting 
a military ID without a social security number will need to self-certify their SSN.  The following is a list of 
affected areas: 
 

• Updated FDLIS to the list of documents that is acceptable for proof of the social security   
number. 

• Updated the Driver License Operations Manual, LR22-Social Security Requirements, and    
the Florida Driver’s Handbook 

 
Registrations:  
 
Section 316.1964(8), F.S., (HB 471), adding language that exempts any vehicle displaying a “DV” license 
plate issued under s. 320.084, Florida Statutes, from any parking fees charged in a facility or lot that 
provides timed parking spaces. 
 

•     Added this statute to RS-17 and the Department’s Internet site at 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/Military.htm 

 
Section 320.0807, F.S., (SB 396), amending language redirecting a portion of the proceeds from the 
special license plate fee for former federal or state legislators to the Florida Historic Capitol Museum’s 
direct-support organization. 
 

•     Added this information to and revised RS-13 
 
Sections 320.0848(1)(d) and (2)(d), F.S., (SB 132), adding language authorizing a veteran previously 
evaluated and certified by the United States Armed Forces as permanently and totally disabled from a 
service-connected disability to renew or replace a disabled parking permit by providing a form letter 
27-333, or its equivalent, issued (within the last 12 months) by the United States Department of 
Veterans Affairs instead of a certificate of disability form HSMV 83039. 
 
When renewing or replacing a Disabled Parking Permit for a disabled veteran who meets the 
requirements, the clerk will enter DVA in the CERT AUTH NUM field.  The CERT AUTH field will 
pre-populate with the Department of Veterans Affairs instead of the physician’s name.  The clerk will 
process the transaction as usual. 
 

•     Added this information to RS-38 and the Department’s Internet site at 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/Military.htm 

 
Sections 320.089, 320.089(1(a), (1)(c), (2), (2)(a), and (2)(b), F.S., (HB 329), adding language authorizing 
the issuance of and providing the qualifications and requirements for six (6) special military license 
plates as follows: Woman Veteran, World War II Veteran, Navy Submariner, Combat Action Ribbon, 
Air Force Combat Action Medal, and Distinguished Flying Cross, and other minor language changes.   
 

• Revised and added this information to RS-15.  These six new plates will not be available 
until a later date.  

• Form HSMV 83034 will be revised as the new special military plates become available. 
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Records: 
 
Section 119.071(4)(d)2.n., F.S. (SB 144), providing current or former impaired practitioner consultants 
who are retained by the agency, current or former employees of an impaired practitioner whose duties 
result in determining a person’s skill and safety to practice a licensed profession, the names, home 
addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, places of employment of their spouses and children, and 
names and locations of their schools and  daycare facilities be exempt from public records requirements 
under specified circumstances. 
 
Driver license examiners and tax collector employees may provide form HSMV 96020 to the customer.  
The customer must complete the form HSMV 96020 and provide it and a letter on agency letterhead or 
other documentation indicating their eligibility for this exemption to the Bureau of Records (BOR).  This 
proof (a letter from a law enforcement agency, a copy of a Military ID, DD214, etc.), along with form 
HSMV 96020 must be sent to BOR at the address provided on the form.   
 

•     Updated form HSMV 96020 to include this information 
 
Sections 119.071(5)(k)1-4, F.S. (HB 185), adding definitions for “identification and location 
information” (home address, telephone number, date of birth, and place of employment) and 
“Servicemembers”(a current or former member of the armed forces, who served after September 11, 
2001), providing an exemption from public records requirements for servicemembers, their spouses, 
and dependents, and providing for applicability and future legislative review/repeal of the exemption.  
 

•     Added this information to RS-08, which includes a statement of public necessity 
 
Section 119.0712, F.S. (SB 7040), providing that e-mail addresses collected and held by the Department 
for the purpose of conducting motor vehicle record and driver license transactions be exempt from 
public records law.  The public availability of personal e-mail addresses puts department customers at 
increased risk for identity theft, consumer scams, unwanted solicitations, or other invasive contacts. 
Such risk may be significantly limited by permitting the department to keep customer e-mail addresses 
exempt. The Legislature finds that the risks to consumers outweigh the state’s public policy favoring 
open government. 
 
House bill 7055, with an effective date of October 1, 2015, was approved by the Governor as well.  This 
bill includes many additional driver license and motor vehicle law changes, which we will include in the 
technical advisory for October 1, 2015 legislation. 
 

Conclusion: 
 
If you have questions and need additional help, please contact Field Support.   
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