DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
To: Tax Collectors and License Plate Agents
From: Carl A. Ford, Director
Subject: 2008 Legislative Changes Which Will Effect Registration Procedures
Advisory Date: 06/18/08 Implementation Date: 07/01/08
Advisory Number: R08-06
During the 2008 Legislative Session, several Senate and House bills passed resulting in the following amendments and changes, which take effect July 1, 2008.
House Bill 167 amended Sections 320.131 and 320.96, Florida Statutes, revising the placement of temporary license plates on vehicles and authorizing the department to implement an electronic print-on-demand temporary license plate issuance system. Motor vehicle dealers may charge a fee to the customer. A manual backup issuance method is allowed in cases of system outages.
House Bill 861 amended Section 320.08058, Florida Statutes, redistributing 20% of the annual license plate fees collected from “Florida Salutes Veterans” license plate sales to a direct-support organization. The State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund will receive the remaining fees.
Senate Bill 1286 amended Sections 328.48, 328.56 and 328.72, Florida Statutes, relating to vessel registrations. Amendments authorize a registration fee increase for vessels and provide for future increases based on changes in the Consumer Price Index.
Senate Bill 2102 amended Section 320.08047, Florida Statutes, terminating the Florida Organ and Tissue Donor Education and Procurement Trust Fund and naming the Health Care Trust Fund as the recipient of those voluntary contributions.
House Bill 7073 amended Section 328.42, Florida Statutes, requiring the department to develop an automated method for disclosing registered vessel owners to the DOR (Department of Revenue). When directed by DOR, the department shall suspend the operating privilege of vessel owners who don’t comply with child support orders.
The following amendments and changes take effect October 1, 2008.
House Bill 69 amended Section 320.06, Florida Statutes, allowing each county the option to offer standard license plates imprinted with the county name, the state motto, or the words “Sunshine State” at the bottom of the license plate.
House Bill 1027 amended Sections 320.089 and 320.02, Florida Statutes, authorizing the general revenue from all veterans’ special license plates sales to support established trust fund purposes. The State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund will receive additional general revenue from veterans’ special license plate sales to construct, operate, and maintain domiciliary and nursing homes for veterans. Motor vehicle registration and renewal applications will include language permitting a $1 voluntary contribution to the state home for veterans.
House Bill 5071 amended Section 320.08058, Florida Statutes, removing the timeframe restriction to use proceeds from the Professional Sports Development Trust Fund for operational expenses of the Florida Sports Foundation and financial support for the Sunshine State Games.
Senate Bill 630 amended Section 320.02, Florida Statutes, requiring application and renewal forms for motor vehicle registration to include language permitting a voluntary contribution of $1 to Family First, a non-profit organization.
Senate Bill 732 amended Sections 320.08056 and 320.08058, Florida Statutes, changing the name of the Bethune-Cookman College license plate to Bethune-Cookman University.
Senate Bill 734 amended Sections 320.08056 and 320.08058, Florida Statutes, creating the following four new specialty license plates with a $25 use fee: Florida Tennis; Lighthouse Association; In God We Trust, and Horse Country.
Senate Bill 1076 amended Sections 319.14 and 319.30, Florida Statutes, requiring that certain documents accompany a motor vehicle or mobile home sold, transported, or delivered to a salvage motor vehicle dealer or a secondary metals recycler. This allows the use of a derelict motor vehicle certificate if the certificate of title, salvage certificate of title, or certificate of destruction is not available and restricts reassignments of a derelict motor vehicle. Notification will be sent to the department by an electronic notification system or delivery of the certificate to an agent of the department. The bill also authorizes placing a hold on a motor vehicle or mobile home that a salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler may possess if it is believed to be stolen or fraudulently titled.
Senate Bill 1992 amended Sections 319.01, 320.01, 320.02, 320.0706, 320.0715, 320.08053, 320.0894, 320.131, 320.031, 320.27, and 320.96, Florida Statutes, as follows. The term “certificate of title” was redefined to include information stored electronically in the department’s database; amended “motorcycle” to exclude a vehicle in which the operator is enclosed by a cabin, and deletes the requirement for a motorcycle endorsement at the time of original registration of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or moped. The Election Campaign Financing Trust Fund was repealed, the issuance of the Gold Star license plate to certain family members was clarified and motor vehicle temporary license plates were designated to be placed on the outside of the vehicle. Requires the department to implement a print-on-demand electronic system to issue temporary license plates, and provides limited use of a manual backup issuance method during a FRVIS outage. Places a moratorium on any new specialty license plates until July 1, 2011, except for those organizations who are in the process of completing their application for a specialty license plate.