Dealer Licensing Requirements

If you are considering becoming a dealer of motor vehicles, mobile homes or recreational
vehicles, you must be licensed by the state of Florida.

What do you plan to sell?

o Motor Vehicles
e« Mobile Homes
o Recreational Vehicles

Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer License Requirements (printable brochure)

Licensing Requirements for Motor Vehicle Dealers

In Florida, motor vehicle dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motorist Services
under Section 320.27 Florida Statutes.

The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership, or corporation that buys, sells, offers for
sale, displays for sale or deals in three or more motor vehicles in any 12-month period is
presumed to be a motor vehicle dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.

License Types
There are six classes of licenses issued to motor vehicle dealers. They are:

Independent Dealer (V1) -- for a person dealing in used motor vehicles only. This license
permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Franchise Dealer (VF) -- allows the licensee to sell new motor vehicles under an agreement
with a manufacturer. This license also permits the licensee to sell used motor vehicles.

Service Facility (SF) -- is a dealership that performs only service as defined in s. 320.60(16),
Florida Statutes, and will not or does not sell or lease motor vehicles.

Wholesale Dealer (VW) -- licensees may only buy from, sell to, and deal at wholesale with
other licensed dealers.

Auctions (VA) -- are licensed to sell, on behalf of licensed dealers, through the bid process.
Auctions may not sell retail.
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Salvage (SD) -- allows the licensee to deal in salvage or wrecked vehicles. Any person who
engages in the business of acquiring salvaged or wrecked motor vehicles for the purpose of
reselling them and their parts must have a salvage dealer license. If the dealer rebuilds salvaged
or wrecked vehicles, the title must be reassigned to an independent dealer for retail sale.

Application

Before going into the business of selling motor vehicles, a person must have a site approved by a
Division of Motorist Services, Regional Office, for the dealership location. Once the site is
approved by a Regional Office, Compliance Examiner/Officer, submit a completed application,
with required documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Division
of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The list of
Regional Offices can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf.

General Licensing Requirements

o Approval of business location by a Compliance Examiner/Officer.

o Completed application form HSMV 86056.

« Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.

e Original $25,000 surety bond, HSMV form 86020; or a letter of credit, HSMV form
86057.

o Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.

e Copy of the pre-licensing dealer training course completion certificate from a Department
approved Dealer Training School. A list of Department approved Dealer Training Schools is
available on-line at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/L_Dealer_Trng_Sch.pdf.

e Independent dealers (VI), Auction dealers (VA), and Wholesale dealers (VW) have
the option to submit a copy of:

o A garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum,
$25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and
property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection; OR

o A general liability insurance policy coupled with a business automobile policy,
which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability
coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000
personal injury protection

o Franchise dealers (VF) must submit a garage liability insurance certificate which shall
include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily
injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection

o Salvage dealers (SD) are not required to submit proof of garage liability insurance
coverage with their application for a salvage dealer’s license or renewal.
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o Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of
State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org).

« Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate
directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation;
Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability
Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.

o Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of
Revenue.

o Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal
Revenue Service.

Proof of electronic fingerprint for each officer, manager, member, partner, sole proprietor
or director from a FDLE authorized service provider. Proof of electronic fingerprint from a
FDLE authorized service provider must be submitted with the application for all new officers. A
list of FDLE approved service providers can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/FDLEApprovedServiceProviderListForElectronicFingerprints.pdf.

Note: Franchise dealers must meet certain additional requirements.
Failure to Obtain a License:

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor,
punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under
civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of
up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact the
Division of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The
list of Regional Offices can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf.

Licensing Requirements for Mobile Home Dealers

In Florida, mobile home dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motor Vehicles
under Section 320.77 Florida Statutes.
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The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale,
displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12-month period is presumed to be
a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.

License Types
There are two classes of licenses issued to mobile homes dealers. They are:

Mobile Home Dealer-- for a person dealing in new or used mobile homes. This license permits
the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Mobile Home Broker--allows the licensee to sell used mobile homes only. This license permits
the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Application

Before going into the business of selling mobile homes, a person must have a site approved by a
Division of Motorist Services, Regional Office, for the dealership location. Once the site is
approved by a Compliance Examiner/Officer, submit a completed application, with required
documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Division of Motorist
Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The list of Regional
Offices can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf

Please note: Mobile Home Brokers do not have to meet the requirements for display space.
General Licensing Requirements

« Approval of business location by a Regional Office representative.

o Completed application, DHSMYV form 86056.

« Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.

e Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.

e Original $25,000 surety bond, HSMV form 86018; or a letter of credit, HSMV form
86058.

e Mobile home dealers selling recreational vehicles must submit a copy of a garage
liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined
single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and
$10,000 personal injury protection.

o Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
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Copy of pre-licensing dealer training seminar certificate. This class is offered at
Department approved Dealer Training Schools given below:

Advanced Dealer Training Institute

1656 Linda Lou Drive

West Palm Beach, FL 33415

Phone Number: (561) 791-9511 and (888) 791-9511. FAX Number: (561) 791-4926
Email Address: adti@mvdti.com Website Address: http://www.mvdti.com

Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC., (AICE)

3050 Scherer Drive North, Suite B

St. Petersburg, Florida 33716

Telephone: Registration: 1-866-930-4577. (Toll Free)

Office (727) 623-9075  Fax (727) 954-3962

E-mail address: info@theaice.com  Website: www.TheAICE.com

Florida Auto Dealer School

1576 Bella Cruz Drive, #427

The Villages, Florida 32159

Telephone: (866) 884-0549

E-Mail: tmyers@floridaautodealerschool.com Web: www.F-A-D-S.com

Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of
State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org)

Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate
directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation;
Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability
Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.

Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of
Revenue.

Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal
Revenue Service.

Proof of electronic fingerprint for each officer, manager, member, partner, sole proprietor
or director from a FDLE authorized service provider. Proof of electronic fingerprint from a
FDLE authorized service provider must be submitted with the application for all new officers. A

list of FDLE approved service providers can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/FDLEApprovedServiceProviderListForElectronicFingerprints.pdf.
Completed Registration of Mobile Home Dealer's Salesperson(s) form, HSMV 84045
available on-line at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BFO/84045.pdf .
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Failure to Obtain a License

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor,
punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under
civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of
up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact the
Division of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The
list of Regional Offices can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf.

Licensing Requirements for Recreational Vehicle Dealers

In Florida, recreational vehicle dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motorist
Services under Section 320.771 Florida Statutes.

The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale,
displays for sale or deals in one or more recreational vehicles in any 12-month period is
presumed to be a recreational vehicle dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the
State.

License Types
There are two classes of licenses issued to recreational vehicle dealers. They are:

New Recreational Vehicle Dealer (RV) -- allow the licensee to sell new and used recreational
vehicles. Recreational Vehicle Dealers selling new recreational vehicles must have an agreement
with the manufacturer signed by both parties authorizing them as a dealer to sell their line-make.

Used Recreational Vehicle Dealer (RU) -- allows the licensee to sell only used recreational
vehicles.

Application

Before going into the business of selling recreational vehicles, a person must have a site
approved by a Regional Office Compliance Officer, for the dealership location. Once the site is
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approved, submit a completed application, with required documentation and fees. License
applications may be obtained from any Division of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle
Field Operations, Regional Office. The list of Regional Offices can be accessed at the
Department’s website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field_Ops_Address.pdf.

General Requirements

« Approval of business location by a Regional Office Compliance Officer.

o Completed application, HSMV form 86056.

o Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.

o Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.

e Original $10,000 surety bond on HSMV form 86019.

o A copy of a garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum,
$25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property
damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection.

o Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.

o Copy of pre-licensing dealer training seminar certificate. This class is offered at
Department approved Dealer Training Schools given below:

Advanced Dealer Training Institute

1656 Linda Lou Drive

West Palm Beach, FL 33415

Phone Number: (561) 791-9511 and (888) 791-9511. FAX Number: (561) 791-4926
Email Address: adti@mvdti.com  Website Address: http://www.mvdti.com

Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC., (AICE)

3050 Scherer Drive North, Suite B

St. Petersburg, Florida 33716

Telephone: Registration: 1-866-930-4577. (Toll Free)

Office (727) 623-9075  Fax (727) 954-3962

E-mail address: info@theaice.com  Website:www.TheAICE.com

Florida auto Dealer School

1576 Bella Cruz Drive, #427

The Villages, Florida 32159

Telephone: (866) 884-0549

E-Mail: tmyers@floridaautodealerschool.com Web: www.F-A-D-S.com

« Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of
State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org)
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« Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate
directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation;
Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability
Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.

o Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of
Revenue.

o Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal
Revenue Service.

« Proof of electronic fingerprint for each officer, manager, member, partner, sole proprietor
or director from a FDLE authorized service provider. Proof of electronic fingerprint from a
FDLE authorized service provider must be submitted with the application for all new officers. A
list of FDLE approved service providers can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://flhsmv.gov/dmv/FDLEApprovedServiceProviderListForElectronicFingerprints.pdf.

Failure to Obtain a License

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor,
punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under
civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of
up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact Division
of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The list of
Regional Offices can be accessed at the Department’s website at
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR_Field Ops_Address.pdf.
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