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SUBJECT: Important Notice to all Licensed Dealers regarding 
the Penalty for Cancellation of Garage Liability Insurance by 
their Garage Liability Insurance Companies 

 

Overview: 
Section 320.27(3), Florida Statutes states in part that Motor Vehicle Dealers must submit a garage 
liability insurance policy or a general liability insurance policy coupled with a business automobile policy. 
Such policy shall be for the license period, and evidence of a new or continued policy shall be delivered 
to the Department at the beginning of each license period. 

 
Section 320.27(12), Florida Statutes states in part that the Department may levy and collect a civil fine in 
an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each violation, against any licensee if it finds that the licensee has 
violated any provision of this section or has violated any other law of this state or the federal law and 
administrative rule set forth in paragraph (9)(a) related to dealing in motor vehicles.  Any licensee shall 
be entitled to a hearing pursuant to chapter 120 if the licensee contests the fine levied, or about to be 
levied, upon him or her. 

 

Details: 
Garage liability insurance companies notify the Department in writing that they will cancel the 
insurance policy for a dealer on a specific date giving reasons for the cancellation. If the dealer does 
not provide proof of reinstatement or new insurance by the effective date of the cancellation, the 
Department will issue an Emergency Suspension Order (ESO) and Administrative Complaint suspending 
the dealer’s license. Once the ESO is served on the dealer, the dealer then has 21 days to respond to 
the ESO. If, at the end of the 21 day period, the dealer does not provide proof of reinstatement or new 
insurance policy, the Department will revoke the dealer's license by way of an Administrative Action. 

 
 

Conclusion: 
The Department will take administrative action and fine all dealers that fail to comply with 
section 320.27(2), Florida Statutes.  The fine for a lapse in coverage of Garage Liability 
Insurance Coverage is $500 per incident. 
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