
   
 

 DIVISION OF MOTORIST SERVICES 

DATE: 02/28/2014 Technical Advisory 
DE14-001 

SUBJECT:  Important Notice to all Licensed Dealers regarding the 
Penalty for Expired Garage Liability Insurance on file with the 
Department. 
 

Overview: 
Section 320.27(2), Florida Statutes states in part that Motor Vehicle Dealers must submit a garage 
liability insurance policy or a general liability insurance policy coupled with a business automobile policy. 
Such policy shall be for the license period, and evidence of a new or continued policy shall be delivered 
to the department at the beginning of each license period. 
 
Section 320.27(12), Florida Statues states in part that the Department may levy and collect a civil fine in 
an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each violation, against any licensee if it finds that the licensee has 
violated any provision of this section or has violated any other law of this state or the federal law and 
administrative rule set forth in paragraph (9)(a) related to dealing in motor vehicles. Any licensee shall 
be entitled to a hearing pursuant to chapter 120 if the licensee contests the fine levied, or about to be 
levied, upon him or her. 
 
Details:  
Currently, a dealer’s garage/general liability insurance policy does not always coincide with the renewal 
period for their specific license type. To accommodate the industry, the Department allows dealers to 
renew their license with the understanding that the dealer will submit documentation of their renewed 
insurance policy during the licensing period to comply with the statutory requirement to  maintain 
continued coverage. 
 
The Department has taken the initative to notify dealers 30 days prior to their expiration date to ensure 
that there is no lapse in coverage. We will also, continue to send two additional notices to dealers that 
are not in compliance prior to taking action against their dealer license.  However, after the third notice 
we will proceed with an administrative action. 
 
Conclusion: 
Effective April 1, 2014, the Department will begin to take administrative action and fine all dealers that 
fail to comply with section 320.27(2) F.S., if the dealer is served an emergency suspension order for 
having an expired general/garage liability policy, the following fines will be imposed. 

• If Dealer provides proof of insurance GLI with no lapse in service the fine is $250 per incident. 
• If Dealer provides proof of GLI that indicates a lapse in service the fine is $500 per incident. 
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