DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
To: Tax Collectors and License Plate Agents
From: Carl A. Ford, Director
Subject: Annual Use Fee for Support Education Specialty License Plate
Advisory Date: 06/24/04
Advisory Number: R04-04
Effective July 1, 2004, the 2004 Session of the Florida Legislature amended section 320.08056, Florida Statutes, to increase the annual use fee for the Florida Educational specialty license plate.
The FRVIS 2000 computer system has been programmed to require the $20 annual use fee on the Florida Educational specialty license plates effective July 1, 2004.
Since renewal notices are printed 3 months in advance and the bill was not passed until May 2004, Support Education specialty license plate renewal notices for the months of July (3,034) and August (3,080) included the $15 annual use fee instead of the new $20 annual use fee. Internet, Scan, Express and regular renewal transactions will display the correct amount prior to the completion of the transaction. Therefore, only renewals processed by mail could present an operational impact on your office.
If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact your Help Desk Representative.