Florida is a great place to ride motorcycles year round. Being properly licensed is required by law and is one of the first steps to becoming a safe rider.
The motorcycle operator's manual contains valuable information for both novice and experienced motorcyclists on techniques to operate a motorcycle safely.
Please note that anyone driving a motorcycle without an endorsement
is violating the law, today.
New motorcyclists must take and pass the
Basic Rider Course through the Florida Rider Trainer Program
before they can have the motorcycle endorsement added to their
license, per Section 322.12(5)(a)., Florida Statutes. If you are coming from another state and your license is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement and the motorcycle course will not be required (except Alabama).
No one under 16 years of age may legally operate or be licensed to operate any of the following two or three-wheel motor vehicles on Florida roads, streets or highways: motorcycles, mopeds, motor-driven cycles, motorized scooters or electric helper-motor bicycles as defined in s. 316.003(2) F.S.
Courses for beginner and for more experienced riders are offered through DHSMV's Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP).
Courses cover strategies and techniques on managing the riding environment and avoiding crashes. In addition, the courses offer on-cycle riding sessions
in order to practice these street-riding strategies and crash avoidance skills. Learning these skills is important as Florida and other crash studies show
that rider course graduates have far less injury and fatality rates as untrained riders, clearly depicting the need for rider education.
The Department's Florida Rider Training Program has a wealth
of information on motorcycle safety and proper licensure.
For more information, check out Florida
Rider Training Program website. Also information on where
to find approved sponsors
who teach the course can be found here. Upon successful completion, the sponsor will
submit the pass results electronically to the department records.
Upon receiving the results, the applicant will be processed
for a motorcycle endorsement. An endorsement fee is applicable.
What are my responsibilities regarding owning/operating a moped?
Moped operators have the same rights and duties as motor vehicle operators and can also receive citations for traffic violations;
therefore, they should know and obey the moped laws. Please view the motorcycle operator's manual for information regarding the laws for operation of a moped on Florida highways.
What does getting a "Motorcycle Only" driver
- Be at least 16 years old, and if under 18, hold a Learner's
License for one year with no traffic convictions.
- Pass the same knowledge test as for a regular Class E operator's
- You must complete the basic motorcycle safety course.
- After you complete the course go to a driver license office
or tax collector office that issues licenses and inform them
that you completed the course. Upon providing proper ID and
paying the required endorsement fees your license will be
issued with a motorcycle endorsement.
Your license will be restricted to operating "Motorcycles