
INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOTOR VEHICLE 

SELF-INSURANCE CERTIFICATION 

FOR-HIRE PASSENGER TRANSPORTATION VEHICLES 

 

 

SELF-INSURANCE CERTIFICATE (BASED ON NET WORTH) 

 

 The certificate of self-insurance issued by this department as per section 324.171, Florida 

Statutes, provides $300,000 combined limits of liability insurance on a per-occurrence basis 

(section 324.032, F.S.).  The certificate holder must operate at least 300 taxicabs, limousines, 

jitneys, or any other for-hire passenger transportation vehicles. 

 

A. Filing Requirements 

 

1. A certified copy of a financial statement audited by an independent certified public 

accountant (balance sheet indicating assets and liabilities) showing a net unencumbered 

worth of: 

 

a. $300,000 net unencumbered worth for the first motor vehicle plus an additional 

amount of net unencumbered worth for each additional vehicle, to be formulated 

annually by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles based upon 

actuarial data from property and casualty insurance companies.  The applicant must 

also submit an excess liability insurance policy issued by an authorized or 

eligible insurer licensed or approved by the Florida Department of Financial 

Services in the amount of $300,000 combined single limits, for each covered 

vehicle. 

 

A financial statement, based on the cost method, which includes depreciation and all 

liabilities including such liabilities as a note or other liability is collateralized by a 

specific asset, provide a schedule showing the cost, the amount of depreciation, and 

the amount of the liability for that asset.  Do not include any asset not owned by the 

company.  You may be asked to provide proof that the corporation owns the assets 

listed. 

 

A schedule of the liquidation value (the amount of money which could be obtained by 

converting the asset in question into cash as of the date of the schedule) of all assets 

listed in your financial statement submitted at the time of your application for the 

certificate of self-insurance. 

 

2. Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number of the certificate holder. 

 

3. A list by make, model, year, vehicle identification and tag number of the vehicles owned 

by the certificate holder.  Only vehicles registered or licensed in the state of Florida can 

be covered. 
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 “Ownership” is defined in section 324.021(9)(a), F.S., as “owner” –  

A person who holds the legal title of a motor vehicle; or, in the event a 

motor vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or 

lease thereof with the right of purchase upon performance of the 

conditions stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of 

possession vested in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a 

mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession, then such conditional 

vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the 

purpose of this chapter. 

 

 A certificate of self-insurance as per section 324.171, F.S., only covers vehicles that are 

owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the name(s) listed on the 

certificate.  Any other use of this certificate, such as extending coverage to vehicles that 

are not owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the self-insurer, may 

subject them to penalties under the Florida Insurance Code for unauthorized insurance 

practices. 

 

 Any change in the ownership of the vehicles listed or addition of vehicles to be covered 

must be reported within 30 days of such change.  A list of additional vehicles must be 

accompanied by an updated financial statement showing a net unencumbered worth as 

required by section 324.171, F.S., for all vehicles to be covered.  Failure to make such 

report will result in the cancellation of the certificate of self-insurance. 

 

4. A list of all officers, directors, and stockholders owning 10 percent or more of the stock 

of the corporation. 

 

“Stockholder” is defined as the ownership of stock held by a single 

individual or the individual and his family which includes only his 

brothers and sisters (whether by whole or half blood), spouse, ancestors, 

and lineal descendants.  Stockholder also includes ownership of stock in 

the same corporation owned, directly or indirectly, by his partner.  In the 

case of a corporate or partnership stockholder, the stockholder is the 

natural person owning 10 percent or more stock of the corporate 

stockholder (apply the definition of stockholder above) or owning 10 

percent or more of the partnership stockholder. 

 

5. A certified copy of certificate holder’s Articles of Incorporation. 

 

6. Proof that the corporation is in active status with the Office of the Secretary of State. 

 

7. A certificate of self-insurance is valid for a period of one year from the effective date of 

the certificate. 

 

8. Not less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the certificate, the department shall 

request an audited financial statement specifying the net unencumbered worth of the self-

insurance holder, an insurance update specifying excess liability insurance coverage and 

a current list of vehicles for the purpose of renewing the certificate. 
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NOTE: Should you have any questions regarding these requirements, please contact the 
following: 

 
  Laura Freeman, HSMV Program Manager 

  Telephone Number: (850) 617-2424-  

  Fax Number: (850) 617-3938 
 
  Mailing Address: Bureau of Motorist Compliance 

     Neil Kirkman Building 

     2900 Apalachee Parkway 

     Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585 
 
     Attention: Laura Freeman, Room A202  
 
  E-Mail Address:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Revised 01/2011 
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jeanhoover@flhsmv.gov 
laurafreeman@flhsmv.gov
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