
 

 

 

STATE OF FLORIDA 

DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 

BUREAU OF MOTORIST COMPLIANCE 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOTOR VEHICLE 

SELF-INSURANCE/FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY CERTIFICATION 

 

 

Table of Contents 

 

 

 

           PAGE 

 

METHOD I – SELF-INSURANCE CERTIFICATE (BASED ON NET WORTH) 

 

 Any firm, partnership, association, corporation, other than a natural person   1 & 2 

 

 Commercial Motor Vehicle (GVW 26,000 pounds or more)     3  -  5 

 

 

METHOD II – FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY CERTIFICATE (BASED  

ON CERTIFICATE OF DEPOSIT) 
 

 Any firm, partnership, association, corporation, other than a natural person   6  -  7 

 

 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOTOR VEHICLE 

SELF-INSURANCE/FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY CERTIFICATION 
 

 

METHOD I – SELF-INSURANCE CERTIFICATE (BASED ON NET WORTH) 
 

 The certificate of self-insurance issued by this department as per section 324.171, Florida 

Statutes, provides limits of liability insurance in the amount of 10/20/10 ($10,000 of bodily 

injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash, $20,000 of bodily injury to, or death of, two 

or more persons in any one crash, $10,000 of injury to, or destruction of, property of others in 

any one crash) and personal injury protection coverage as per section 627.733(3)(b), F.S. 

 

A. Any firm, partnership, association, corporation, other than a natural person – Filing 

Requirements 
 

1. A certified copy of a financial statement audited by an independent certified public 

accountant (balance sheet indicating assets and liabilities) showing a net unencumbered 

worth for either of the two options listed below: 
 

a. $40,000 for the first vehicle and $20,000 for each vehicle thereafter (no excess 

liability insurance required), or 
 

b. $40,000 net unencumbered worth for the first motor vehicle plus an additional 

amount of net unencumbered worth for each additional vehicle, to be formulated 

annually by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles based upon 

actuarial data from property and casualty insurance companies.  This option is 

available provided the applicant submits an excess liability insurance policy issued by 

an authorized or eligible insurer licensed or approved by the Florida Department of 

Financial Services in the amount of $30,000, $50,000, or $100,000 combined single 

limits, for each covered vehicle. 
 

A financial statement, based on the cost method, which includes depreciation and all 

liabilities including such liabilities as a note or other liability is collateralized by a 

specific asset, provide a schedule showing the cost, the amount of depreciation, and 

the amount of the liability for that asset.  Do not include any asset not owned by the 

company.  You may be asked to provide proof that the corporation owns the assets 

listed. 
 

A schedule of the liquidation value (the amount of money which could be obtained by 

converting the asset in question into cash as of the date of the schedule) of all assets 

listed in your financial statement submitted at the time of your application for the 

certificate of self-insurance. 
 

2. Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number of the certificate holder. 
 

3. A list by make, model, year, vehicle identification and tag number of the vehicles owned 

by the certificate holder.  This list may be submitted electronically in a spreadsheet 

format or on a CD.  Only vehicles registered or licensed in the state of Florida can be 

covered. 
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“Ownership” is defined in section 324.021(9)(a), F.S., as “owner” – A 

person who holds the legal title of a motor vehicle; or, in the event a motor 

vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease 

thereof with the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions 

stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested 

in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a 

vehicle is entitled to possession, then such conditional vendee or lessee or 

mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the purpose of this chapter. 

 

 A certificate of self-insurance as per section 324.171, F.S., only covers vehicles that are 

owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the name(s) listed on the 

certificate.  Any other use of this certificate, such as extending coverage to vehicles that 

are not owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the self-insurer, may 

subject them to penalties under the Florida Insurance Code for unauthorized insurance 

practices. 

 

 Any change in the ownership of the vehicles listed or addition of vehicles to be covered 

must be reported within 30 days of such change.  A list of additional vehicles must be 

accompanied by an updated financial statement showing a net unencumbered worth as 

required by section 324.171, F.S., for all vehicles to be covered.  Failure to make such 

report will result in the cancellation of the certificate of self-insurance. 

 

4. A list of all officers, directors, and stockholders owning 10 percent or more of the stock 

of the corporation. 

 

“Stockholder” is defined as the ownership of stock held by a single 

individual or the individual and his family which includes only his 

brothers and sisters (whether by whole or half blood), spouse, ancestors, 

and lineal descendants.  Stockholder also includes ownership of stock in 

the same corporation owned, directly or indirectly, by his partner.  In the 

case of a corporate or partnership stockholder, the stockholder is the 

natural person owning 10 percent or more stock of the corporate 

stockholder (apply the definition of stockholder above) or owning 10 

percent or more of the partnership stockholder. 

 

5. A certified copy of certificate holder’s Articles of Incorporation. 

 

6. Proof that the corporation is in active status with the Office of the Secretary of State. 

 

7. A certificate of self-insurance is valid for a period of one year from the effective date of 

the certificate. 

 

8. Not less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the certificate, the department shall 

request an audited financial statement specifying the net unencumbered worth of the self-

insurance holder, an insurance update specifying excess liability insurance coverage (if 

applicable), and a current list of vehicles for the purpose of renewing the certificate. 
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B. Commercial Motor Vehicle – Filing Requirements 



 

Commercial motor vehicle as defined in section 207.002(2), Florida Statutes. 

 

        Minimum Liability Insurance 

  Gross Vehicle Weight    Required Per Occurrence 

 

Category I.  26,000 – 34,999 pounds -  $50,000 

      “               II.  35,000 – 43,999 pounds -  $100,000 

      “              III.  44,000 pounds or more -  $300,000 

      “              IV.  Vehicles subject to United States Department of Transportation 

       Insurance Regulations -  $750,000 (Minimum Federal Levels) 

 

1. The owner of a commercial motor vehicle in order to qualify as a self-insured shall 

furnish the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles a certified copy of a 

financial statement audited by an independent certified public accountant (balance sheet 

indicating assets and liabilities) showing a net unencumbered worth of either of the 

options listed below: 

 

a. If no excess liability insurance is provided: 

 

(I) $50,000 for the first vehicle in Category I, and $20,000 for each vehicle 

thereafter. 

 

(II) $100,000 for the first vehicle in Category II, and $20,000 for each vehicle 

thereafter. 

 

(III) $300,000 for the first vehicle in Category III, and $20,000 for each vehicle 

thereafter. 

 

(IV) $750,000 for the first vehicle in Category IV, and $20,000 for each vehicle 

thereafter. 

 

b. Utilizing $50,000, $100,000, $300,000, or $750,000 (whichever is applicable to the 

gross vehicle weight) net unencumbered worth for the first motor vehicle plus an 

additional amount of net unencumbered worth for each additional vehicle, to be 

formulated annually by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles based 

upon actuarial data from property and casualty insurance companies.  This option is 

available provided the applicant submits an excess liability insurance policy issued by 

an authorized or eligible insurer licensed or approved by the Florida Department of 

Financial Services in the amount of $50,000, $100,000, $300,000, or $750,000 

combined single limits, for each covered vehicle. 

 

A financial statement, based on the cost method, which includes depreciation and all 

liabilities including such liabilities as a note or other liability is collateralized by a 

specific asset, provide a schedule showing the cost, the amount of depreciation, and 

the amount of the liability for that asset.  Do not include any asset not owned by the 

company.  You may be asked to provide proof that the corporation owns the assets 

listed. 
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 A schedule of the liquidation value (the amount of money which could be obtained by 

converting the asset in question into cash as of the date of the schedule) of all assets 



listed in your financial statement submitted at the time of your application for the 

certificate of self-insurance. 

 

2. Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number of the certificate holder. 

 

3. A list by make, model, year, vehicle identification and tag number of the vehicles owned 

by the certificate holder by GVW class.  This list may be submitted electronically in a 

spreadsheet format or on a CD.  Only vehicles registered or licensed in the state of 

Florida can be covered. 

 

“Ownership” is defined in section 324.021(9)(a), F.S., as “owner” – A 

person who holds the legal title of a motor vehicle; or, in the event a motor 

vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease 

thereof with the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions 

stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested 

in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a 

vehicle is entitled to possession, then such conditional vendee or lessee or 

mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the purpose of this chapter. 

 

 A certificate of self-insurance as per section 324.171, F.S., only covers vehicles that are 

owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the name(s) listed on the 

certificate.  Any other use of this certificate, such as extending coverage to vehicles that 

are not owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the self-insurer, may 

subject them to penalties under the Florida Insurance Code for unauthorized insurance 

practices. 

 

 Any change in the ownership of the vehicles listed or addition of vehicles to be covered 

must be reported within 30 days of such change.  A list of additional vehicles must be 

accompanied by an updated financial statement showing a net unencumbered worth as 

required by section 324.171, F.S., for all vehicles to be covered.  Failure to make such 

report will result in the cancellation of the certificate of self-insurance. 

 

4. A list of all officers, directors, and stockholders owning 10 percent or more of the stock 

of the corporation. 

 

“Stockholder” is defined as the ownership of stock held by a single 

individual or the individual and his family which includes only his 

brothers and sisters (whether by whole or half blood), spouse, ancestors, 

and lineal descendants.  Stockholder also includes ownership of stock in 

the same corporation owned, directly or indirectly, by his partner.  In the 

case of a corporate or partnership stockholder, the stockholder is the 

natural person owning 10 percent or more stock of the corporate 

stockholder (apply the definition of stockholder above) or owning 10 

percent or more of the partnership stockholder. 
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5. A certified copy of certificate holder’s Articles of Incorporation. 

 

6. Proof that the corporation is in active status with the Office of the Secretary of State. 



 

7. A certificate of self-insurance is valid for a period of one year from the effective date of 

the certificate. 

 

8. Not less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the certificate, the department shall 

request an audited financial statement specifying the net unencumbered worth of the self-

insurance holder, an insurance update specifying excess liability insurance coverage (if 

applicable), and a current list of vehicles for the purpose of renewing the certificate. 
 

 

 

METHOD II – FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY CERTIFICATE (BASED ON 

CERTIFICATE OF DEPOSIT) 

 

 Persons making deposits as authorized by sections 324.031(3) and 324.161, Florida 

Statutes, must provide the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Bureau of 

Motorist Compliance, with the following: 

 

Any firm, partnership, association, corporation, other than a natural person – Filing 

Requirements 

 

1. By depositing $30,000 for each vehicle to be covered by the certificate, not to exceed 

$120,000 for 4 or more vehicles, in cash or securities as may be legally purchased by savings 

banks or for trust funds, and 

 

2. Insurance coverage must also be provided in excess of limits of $10,000/20,000/10,000 or 

$30,000 combined single limits.  Such excess liability insurance shall provide minimum 

limits of $125,000/250,000/50,000 or $300,000 combined single limits for 4 for more 

vehicles. 

 

Any insurance company used by a firm, partnership, association, corporation, other than a 

natural person, to qualify to receive a financial responsibility certificate, must be licensed 

with the Florida Department of Financial Services to do business in this state. 

 

Specific Requirements 

 

1. Certificate of deposits will be issued and held by a financial institution in the county, in 

which the depositor resides or has its principal place of business.  Proof of such deposit must 

be submitted to the Department which will be held and executed upon a judgment issued 

against such person making the deposit, for damages of bodily injury to or death or any 

person or for damages because of injury to or destruction of property resulting from the use 

or operation of any motor vehicle occurring after such deposit is made. 

 

 

 

 

 

2. A power of attorney, copy of which is attached, must accompany the certificate of deposit 

authorizing the department to accept and redeem the deposits or the depositor’s security to 

pay claims in the amount of $10,000/20,000/10,000 as a result of any one crash.  In addition, 

the banking institution issuing the deposit or security must confirm in writing to the 



department that they fully understand that the department has the authority to redeem the 

deposit or security to satisfy claims as specified in Chapter 324, F.S. 

 

 

 

3. Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number of the certificate holder. 

 

4. A list by make, model, year, vehicle identification and tag number of the vehicles owned by 

the certificate holder.  This list may be submitted electronically in a spreadsheet format or on 

a CD.  Only vehicles registered or licensed in the state of Florida can be covered. 

 

“Ownership” is defined in section 324.021(9)(a), F.S., as “owner” – A 

person who holds the legal title of a motor vehicle; or, in the event a motor 

vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease 

thereof with the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions 

stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested 

in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a 

vehicle is entitled to possession, then such conditional vendee or lessee or 

mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the purpose of this chapter. 

 

 A financial responsibility certificate as per section 324.031, F.S. only covers vehicles that are 

owned or leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the name listed on the certificate.  

Any other use of this certificate, such as extending coverage to vehicles that are not owned or 

leased (under a lease-purchase agreement) by the certificate holder, may subject them to 

penalties under the Florida Insurance Code for unauthorized insurance practices. 

 

Any change in the ownership of the vehicles listed or addition of vehicles to be covered must 

be reported within 30 days of such change.  Failure to make such report will result in the 

cancellation of the financial responsibility certificate. 

 

A financial responsibility certificate is valid for a period of one year from the effective date 

of the certificate. 

 

5. Not less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the financial responsibility certificate, the 

department shall request a letter be provided from the bank indicating the certificate of 

deposit has been renewed, an insurance update specifying excess liability insurance 

coverage, and a current list of vehicles for the purpose of renewing the certificate. 

 

6. If a financial responsibility certificate is issued and the department receives a final judgment 

against the depositor arising out of a motor vehicle crash, the depositor will be granted 30 

calendar days in which to satisfy said judgment.  If said judgment is not satisfied within 30 

days, the department will exercise its right to redeem said deposit or security and disburse to 

the judgment creditor amounts specified in the final judgment not to exceed the amounts of 

$10,000/20,000/10,000 specified in section 324.031, F.S.  The certificate issued by the 

department will be canceled immediately after the judgment has been paid.  Any moneys 

remaining after the satisfaction of judgment will be refunded to the depositor. 

 

 

NOTE: Should you have any questions regarding these requirements, please contact the 

following: 
 



  Laura Freeman, HSMV Program Manager 

  Telephone Number: (850) 617-2424  

  Fax Number: (850) 617-3938 
 
  Mailing Address: Bureau of Motorist Compliance 

     Neil Kirkman Building 

     2900 Apalachee Parkway 

     Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585 
 
     Attention:  Laura Freeman, Room A202  
 
  E-Mail Address:  
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jeanhoover@flhsmv.gov 
laurafreeman@flhsmv.gov
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