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STATE OF FLORIDA 

DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 
DIVISION OF DRIVER LICENSES 

BUREAU OF DRIVER EDUCATION AND DUI PROGRAMS 
 

LICENSE APPLICATION FOR 
COMMERCIAL DRIVING SCHOOL 

 
This form is to be used for original and renewal applications for the 
purpose of securing approval to engage in motor vehicle driving 
instruction, by the individual, association, corporation or partnership 
as owner of the school for a license to conduct a Commercial Driving 
School, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 488, Florida 
Statutes and the Contractual Agreement for Commercial Driving Schools. 
 
This form and all required documentation and fees are to be submitted 
to:    Department of Highway Safety and Motor    
    Vehicles 
    Bureau of Driver Education and DUI Programs 
    Neil Kirkman Building, Mail Stop 88 
    2900 Apalachee Parkway 
    Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0570 
 
THIS APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETE WITH ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND FEES 
ATTACHED PRIOR TO SUBMISSION TO THIS OFFICE. 
 
AN APPLICATION FOR LICENSE RENEWAL RECEIVED LESS THAN 45 DAYS FROM THE 
EXPIRATION DATE WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED BY THE DEPARTMENT AND THE LICENSE 
WILL NOT BE RENEWED.  IN SUCH CASE, A COMMERCIAL DRIVING SCHOOL MUST 
SUBMIT AN ORIGINAL APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE. 
 
O = Original Application  R = Renewal Application B = Both 
 
All fees are due at submission and are made payable to: 
  Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 
 
Application Fee:   $ 50.00 (O)       
      Non-Refundable per F.S.488.03 
Original License Fee:  $200.00 (O)        
License Renewal Fee:   $100.00 (R)        
Original Vehicle Registration: $ 15.00 (O)        
      Non-Refundable per F.S.488.05 
Renewal Vehicle Registration: $ 10.00 (R)       
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1. GENERAL INFORMATION. 
 
(B) Name of School:                                               

PLEASE ATTACH CERTIFICATE OF FICITIOUS NAME OR CERTIFICATE OF 
INCORPORATION 

(B) Business Address:                                             
PLEASE ATTACH CERTIFICATE OF OCCUPANCY OR LEASE AGREEMENT 

 
(B) Branch Offices (List Licensed Name and Business Address): 
 
                                                               
 
                                                               
 
                                                               

NOTE: Each branch office location requires a separate license 
application and fee. 
   

(B)  Phone Number(s):                                              
 
     E-mail Address:                                      
 
2. OWNER/OPERATOR. 
 
(B) If the school is owned by an individual, partnership, principal 

stockholder(s), association or a corporation, list the name, 
addresses and positions of all persons involved.  (Continue on a 
separate sheet of paper and attach if necessary.) PLEASE ATTACH 
FDLE REPORT FOR EACH OWNER/OPERATOR 

 
                                                               
 
                                                               
 
                                                               
 
                                                               
 
                                                               
 
3. PROGRAM OF INSTRUCTION. 
 
(B) a. Does the school make available both academic and practical 

instruction?           
 
(B) b. Does the school provide academic instructions to students?    

          If so, explain and supply a copy of the academic 
methodology used, the text or materials used, and their 
origin? (attach to this document).  
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(B) c. How much instructional time is devoted to academic instruction 

per student?           
 
(B) d. How much instructional time is devoted to practical 

instruction per student?           
 
(B) e. What is the time period of the course of instruction given to 

the average student before the student attempts to obtain a 
restricted driver license?           

(B) f. Number of instructors employed?            
 
(R) g. Number of students taught in the last twelve (12) calendar 

months?(male)          (female)          (total)            . 
 
(R) h. Average hours of driving instruction with student in actual 

physical control of the motor vehicle?           
 
(R) i. Average hours of academic instruction per student?       
 
(R) j. Number of students holding a valid Class “E” license?     
 
(R) k. Number of individuals instructed in the following age groups: 
 
  15-16             41-50            
 
  17-18             51-60            
 
  19-30             Over 60            
 
  31-40            
 
(B) l. Fees charged to students per hour $            
 
(B) m. Enclose a copy of your contract which is given to each 

student. 
 
(B) n. List of all instructors and agents employed by the school (if 

necessary continue on a separate sheet and attach to this 
application): 
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(B) o. Enter the following information with respect to school 

vehicles, licensed by the Department, to be used by your 
organization.  These vehicles must be dual controlled.  (if 
necessary continue on a separate sheet and attach to this 
application).  ATTACH A CURRENT CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE FOR 
EACH VEHILCE LISTED 

 
  Make of Vehicle   Year   VIN                  Own/Lease 
 
                                                           
 
                                                           
 
                                                           
 
                                                           
 
                                                           
 
  NOTE:  Whenever motor vehicles are replaced or added, notify 

the Department and forward a valid certificate of insurance 
for new vehicle registration. 
 

4. SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION 
 

a. Have you ever been convicted of, plead nolo contendere too or 
plead guilty to a felony in any State or Federal Court?     . 
 If yes, describe: ___________ 
 
__                                            _________  
 
__                                            _________  
 
__                                            _________  

 
 b. Have you ever been convicted of, plead nolo contendere too or 

plead guilty to a misdemeanor in any State or Federal Court?  
   .  If yes, describe:                  
 
__                                            _________  
 
__                                            _________  
 
__                                            _________  

  
c. Driver License number:              _________State:             
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 AFFIDAVIT 
 
STATE OF FLORIDA 
COUNTY OF                 
 
 The information supplied above is true and complete.  I understand 
that any fraudulent or misinformation supplied or information withheld 
by me will result in the permanent revocation of my commercial driving 
school's license.  I also understand that as a result, I will never 
again be able to be involved in commercial driver education in the State 
of Florida. 
 
                                       
       (Signature in Full) 
 
                                       
       (Position in School) 
 
Sworn before me this       day of              , 20   . 
 
 
 
 
                           
Notary Public      (SEAL) 
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ATTACH THE FOLLOWING TO THIS APPLICATION: 
 
(B)1. All additional information called for throughout the 

application. 
 
(B)2. All fees for this document. 
 
(B)3. Attach a Certified copy of certificate of Fictitious Name, from 

the Department of State, as filed under the Fictitious Name 
Act.  The Certificate must not be more than five (5) years old. 
 However, if your school is incorporated you must submit a copy 
of the Certificate of Incorporation filed with the Department 
of State within the last 12 months. (To request information on 
how to obtain a copy of your certificate please call (850) 488-
9000.) 

 
(B)4. Attach a Certificate of Insurance including description of the 

motor vehicle providing coverage for commercial driver 
education use of such vehicle and the certificate must also 
state that ten (10) days notice will be given to the Bureau of 
Driver Education and DUI Programs, Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles in the event of change or cancellation of 
the policy. 

 
(B)5. Attach a current Florida Department of Law Enforcement report 

for each owner, director, officer, partner or principal 
stockholder(s), of the partnership, association or corporation. 
This report will be accepted up to 12 months from the date of 
issuance.  Please note – applicant that have not been a 
resident of Florida for at least a year must also include a 
criminal background check from their previous state of 
residency.  To request information on how to obtain a FDLE 
Report please call  

 
(B)6. For Commercial Truck Driving Schools, attach the current year 

U.S.  Department of Transportation Annual Inspection form (NAV-
90-553) on each vehicle your organization will use for 
instruction. 
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