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 STATE OF FLORIDA 
 DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 
 DIVISION OF DRIVER LICENSES 
 BUREAU OF DRIVER EDUCATION AND DUI PROGRAMS 
 
 APPLICATION FOR AN INSTRUCTOR OR AGENT CERTIFICATE FOR 
 COMMERCIAL DRIVING SCHOOL 
 
This form is to be used for original and renewal applications for 
the purpose of securing approval to engage in motor vehicle 
driving instruction, by the individual employee of a commercial 
driving school for instructor or agent certification in accordance 
with the provisions of Chapter 488, Florida Statutes and the 
Contractual Agreement for Commercial Driving School Instructors 
and Agents. 
 
This form and all required documentation and fees are to be 
submitted to:  Department of Highway Safety and Motor  
    Vehicles 
    Bureau of Driver Education and DUI Programs 
    Neil Kirkman Building, Mail Stop 88 
    2900 Apalachee Parkway 
    Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0570 
 
THIS APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETE WITH ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND 
FEES ATTACHED PRIOR TO SUBMISSION TO THIS OFFICE. 
 
A RENEWAL APPLICATION RECEIVED LESS THAN 45 DAYS FROM THE EXPIRATION 
DATE WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED BY THE DEPARTMENT AND THE CERTIFICATE WILL 
NOT BE RENEWED.  IN SUCH CASE A COMMERCIAL DRIVING SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR OR 
AGENT MUST SUBMIT AN ORIGINAL APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION. 
 
O = Original Application  R = Renewal Application B = Both 
 
All fees are due at submission and are made payable to: 
  Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 
 
Original Instructor/Agent Fee:    $25.00 (O)        

      Non-Refundable per F.S. 488.04(1) 
Renewal Instructor/Agent Fee:     $10.00 (R)        
Duplicate Instructor/Agent Card   $ 2.00           
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1. GENERAL INFORMATION(Note: An instructor must hold a valid 

Florida Driver License). 
 
(B) Name:                                                         
  First   Middle   Last 
 
(B) Residence Address:                                            
 
(B) Date of Birth:            Height     ft.     in. Weight       
 
(B) Color of Hair:            Color of Eyes:                      
 
(B) Any Permanent scars or marks?      If yes, describe:          
 
     _____________________________________________________________  
 
(B) Name of School Employed By or Authorized on Behalf of: 
 

                                                  
 
(B) Address of School:                                            
 
(B) Your position with the School:                                
      (Owner, Instructor, Agent,etc.) 
 
2. Driver Information. E-mail:________________________________
 
(B) Driver License number:                                        
 
(B) Have you ever had your driver license revoked, suspended or 

cancelled?      If yes, explain:                             
 
                                                               
 
In the past twelve (12) months?        If yes, explain:  
 
                                                                 
 
                                                       
 
(B) Have you ever suffered from epilepsy, fainting spells, or 

dizziness?       If yes, explain:                             
 
                                                               In  
 
 the past twelve (12) months?         If yes, explain:      
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(B) Have you ever been addicted to narcotic drugs or intoxicating 

beverages?       If yes, explain:                            
 
                               __________                          
 
(B) Have you ever been convicted of a violation of the Motor 

Vehicle Law?       If yes, explain:                           
 
                                                                   
 
       ___________                                                 
 
(B) Have you ever been involved in or convicted of fraud or 

fraudulent practices in relation to securing a driver 
licenses?________________  If yes, explain: 

 
                                                                   
 
                                                                   
 
                                                               In  
 

the past twelve (12) months?       If yes, explain:         
 
                                                                   
 
     ______________                                                
 
(B) Have you ever been convicted of, plead nolo contendere too or 

plead guilty to a felony or misdemeanor in any State or 
Federal Court?       If yes, explain:                         

 
                                                                   
 
       ____________                                                
 
(B) Are there any proceedings now pending against you relative to 

any crimes, misdemeanors, or traffic violations?     If yes, 
explain:                                                ____  
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3. EDUCATION. 
 
(B) What is the highest education level you have achieved?        
 
                                                            ______  
 
(B) Have you ever completed a Department approved 32 hour course 

in driver education?        If yes, which course?             In 
  the last twelve (12) months?       If yes, which course? 

 
    _________________________________________________________  

  
(R) Have you completed a basic or advanced driver education 

refresher course within the last five (5) years?  If yes, 
which course? 

 
 _______________________________________________________  

 
 Attach a copy of your course completion certificate.  If no, 
 sign up for the next available driver education course.  If 
 you have not attended a refresher course and it has been more 
 than five years since you have attended a 32 hour course you 
 will be required to attend the 32 hour course again. 
 
4. WORK EXPERIENCE. 
 

(O) Have you have worked as a commercial driving school 
instructor before?__________  If yes, list the name of the 
school  

 
_________________________________________. 

 
 Are you currently working for another commercial driving 
 school? _________  If yes, list the name of the school  
 
 _________________________________________.  
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 AFFIDAVIT 
 
STATE OF FLORIDA 
COUNTY OF               
 
 The information supplied is true and complete.  I understand 
that any fraudulent or misinformation supplied or information 
withheld by me will result in the permanent revocation of my 
commercial driving school instructor certificate or agent card.  I 
also understand that as a result, I will never again be able to be 
involved in commercial driver education in the State of Florida. 
 
                                      
       (Signature in Full) 
 
                                     
       (Position in School) 
 
 
Sworn before me this        day of             , 20  . 
 
 
 
                            
Notary Public      (SEAL) 
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ATTACH THE FOLLOWING TO THIS APPLICATION: 
 
(B)1. All additional information called for throughout the 

application. 
 
(B)2.  All fees for this document. 
 
   3.  Two (2) photographs (original application, one (1) for 

renewal) taken within thirty (30) days of the 
application.  All pictures must be identical 1 and 1/2 
inch square and must show neck, shoulders and uncovered 
head. 

 
(B)4.  A notarized statement from the owner of the school that 

the instructor will be employed by or authorized to 
provide driving instructions on behalf of the school.  
Owners that are also instructors are not required to 
submit a letter of employment. 

 
(B)5. Application for an agents certificate must include the 

financial agreement between the agent and the school 
owner. 

 
(B)6. Attach a current Florida Department of Law Enforcement 

Report.  This report will be accepted up to 12 months 
from the date of issuance. 
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