A SAFER

FLORIDA

HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES

No Proof of Insurance Handout

You are receiving this handout because you were cited for not providing proof of insurance and the
Clerk of Court has entered a guilty disposition. When the Department of Highway Safety and Motor
Vehicles receives the guilty disposition, they will automatically mail you an order of suspension. The
suspension will affect your driver license, license plate and registration.
In order to have a Florida license plate and registration, the law requires you maintain and carry proof of
insurance for two years with at least the minimum amount and type of coverage as follows:

= 510,000 (PIP) for personal injury protection per occurrence.

= 510,000 (PDL) for damage of property of others per occurrence, or $30,000 (CSL) combined

single limits per occurrence.
If you owned the vehicle at the time the citation was issued, you will need to contact your insurance
company and obtain a “Non-Cancellable SR22” with PIP/PDL insurance coverage.
OR

Surrender the valid tag and registration for the uninsured vehicle at any driver license office.
If the suspension goes into effect and you have not obtained a non-cancellable SR22 or surrendered
your valid tag and registration, you will also be required to pay a reinstatement fee of: $150, $250 or

$500.

For further assistance, please contact:
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, Florida
32399
Customer Service
(850) 617-2000



