Electra Theodorides-Bustle

Charlie Crist

Executive Director Governor
Bill McCollum

Attorney General

Alex Sink

2800 Apalachee Parkway Chuef Financial Officer
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0800 Charles H. Bronson
www.flhamv.gov Commissioner of Agriculture

TO:

August 29, 2008

Clerks of Court

FROM: WRe:dlng Chief

Bureau of Records

SUBJECT: New Driver License Laws Effective October 1, 2008

Several significant law changes affecting driver licenses will be implemented October 1, 2008. For your reference, these law changes
include:

P

Driver license terms changes for U.S. Citizens and Immigrants with Permanent Legal Presence
» Florida Class E driver licenses will be valid for 8 years except for customers 80 and older.

o Class A, B, or C driver licenses will be valid for 8 years except for customers 80 and older. Licenses with a hazardous
materials endorsement will only be valid for 4 years.

«  All licenses for customers 80 and older will be valid for 6 years only.

e ID cards for children 5 through 14 years of age will be valid for 4 years. 1D cards for customers 15 and older will be
valid for 8 years.

The term ‘replacement” license supersedes the term “duplicate’. There will no longer be an option to issue a duplicate license.
A person will be allowed to elect the school option to avoid points five times in a 10-year period instead of S times in a lifetime.

CDL holders who receive a DUI conviction on or after October 1, 2008, even while driving a personal vehicle, will be
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for | year for the first offense, and permanently disqualified for the
second offense. These penalties are based on convictions dates and not offense dates. In addition, the driving privilege of a
commercial driver license holder who is cited for unlawful breath or blood alcohol level above 0.08 under section 316.193,
Florida Statutes, will be administratively disqualified at roadside, regardless of the type of vehicle operated at the time of the stop.

Because we are required to provide notice to the driver of the disqualification. the DUI citations need to be modified. However,
we have a significant supply of paper DUI citations in circulation and, in the interest of saving taxpayer dollars: we plan to
exhaust these before printing more. The law enforcement agencies using paper citations will réceive a separate disqualification
notice to provide to the customer. However, law enforcement agencies using electronic citations may choose to update the
citation with the amended language below and show a revision date of 10/08:

"Driving with an unlawful blood or breath alcohol level. This suspension is for a period of six months if this is the first
violation, or one year if previously suspended for driving with an unlawful blood or breath alcohol level. If you hold a CDL
or are operating a CMV, your commercial driving privilege will also be disqualified for one year for the first vffense or
permanently disqualified if you have been previously disqualified under Section 322.64, F.S."

We hope this information is useful to you. Please visit our web site at www.flhsmv.gov/courts for more information. Please direct
any questions Bonnie Scott-Walls at (850) 617-2702 or BonnieScott-Walls@flhsmv.gov.
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