
 

 

 
February 10, 2011 

 
To:  All Florida County Courts 

All Law Enforcement Agencies 
All States Attorneys 

   
FROM:  Maureen Johnson, Chief  
  Motorist Services- Bureau of Records 
 
SUBJECT: Operating a Motor Vehicle with No Proof of Insurance,  

Section 316.646(1-3), Violation Code 280 
 
 Effective September 1, 2010, section 316.646(3), Florida Statutes, requires the Department to 
automatically suspend the registration and driving privilege of a Florida driver convicted for operating a motor 
vehicle with no proof of insurance.  This citation applies if the driver is the owner or the co-owner of the 
vehicle.   
 

Section 316.646(2), Florida Statutes states “If, upon a comparison of the vehicle registration certificate 
or other evidence of registration or ownership with the operator’s driver’s license or other evidence of personal 
identity, it appears to a law enforcement officer or other person authorized to issue traffic citations that the 
operator is also the owner or registrant of the vehicle, upon demand of the law enforcement officer or other 
person authorized to issue traffic citations the operator shall display proper proof of maintenance of security as 
specified by subsection (1).” 
 
   Currently, when a driver is cited for failure to maintain proof of insurance, the driver may elect to enter 
a plea of nolo contendere and present proper proof of insurance to the clerk of court.  In such case, adjudication 
shall be withheld by the clerk in accordance with section 318.14(10) (a), Florida Statutes.  However, if the driver 
pays the fine, a conviction is added to the driver record.  
 

With this law change, we now have the authority to suspend a customer’s driving privilege and 
registration upon receipt of a conviction of this violation.  This process will identify potentially uninsured 
drivers and enable the Department to enforce mandatory Personal Injury Protection/Property Damage Liability 
(PIP/PDL) insurance requirements to protect the driving public. 

 
  Effective February 11, 2011, we are implementing programming changes so that any convictions or 
“paid civil penalty” for no proof of insurance will produce a driver license suspension order which will be 
mailed to the customer.  This suspension will be effective 5 days from the date of the notice.  To reinstate, the 
customer must show proof of insurance for the date of the offense to the Department or present proof of a non 
cancellable SR-22 for PIP/PDL insurance, which will need to be maintained for a 2-year period from the 
suspension date, and pay either a $150, $250 or $500 fee if SR-22 is purchased after the suspension date.   
   
  If you have any questions concerning this, please contact Amy Crowson at 850-617-2589 or email 
CourtAssist@flhsmv.gov.  Please visit our web site at www.flhsmv.gov/courts for more information from our 
Department.   


