Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) and Selling Driving Records

The Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), 18 United States Code sections 2721-2725 makes
personal information contained in motor vehicle and driver license records exempt from disclosure.
Personal information in a motor vehicle record includes, but is not limited to, an individual’s social
security number, driver license or other identification number, name, address, telephone number,
medical or disability information and emergency contact information.

Florida Statute 119.0712(2) states that personal information contained in motor vehicle and
driver license records are exempt from disclosure. If your court currently sells driver records to the
public, you may continue to provide that service. In compliance with DPPA and Florida Statutes, all
personal information contained within the motor vehicle and driver license records being sold must be
blocked unless the individual or agencies requesting the records meet one or more of the requirements
of the Driver Privacy Protection Act Exemptions. A listing of these exemptions along with the
Department’s new Public Records Request Form is attached.

In the event that an individual or agency meets the criteria for a Driver Privacy Protection Act
exemption, the following procedures should be followed when releasing motor vehicle and driver
license information:

e Arecord can be provided using your current three-digit three-year record vendor
number proceeded by a zero. If a complete record is requested, the three-digit court
vendor number, preceded by a zero, should be used.

In the event that an individual or agency does not meet the criteria for a Driver Privacy
Protection Act exemption, the following procedures should be followed when releasing motor vehicle
and driver license information:

e Avrecord can be provided by placing a 5 (if the customer provides the licensee’s name)
or a 6 (if the customer provides you with the licensee’s driver license number) in front of
the three-digit three-year or court vendor number instead of a zero.

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact the Department’s Court Assist at
850-617-2589 or email CourtAssist@flhsmv.gov.
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DRIVER LICENSE, MOTOR VEHICLE/VESSEL RECORDS REQUEST

FEES ARE COLLECTED AT TIME OFTHE REQUEST AND ARE MADE PAYABLE TOTHE DIVISION OF
MOTORIST SERVICES. ALLOW A 2-WEEK PROCESSING TIME FROMDATE RECEIVED

Requester's Information:

Name of Requester Date Reference # (Case/File Name)

Street Address To receive personal information list appropriate Email Address
exemption number(s) from list. If you are requesting
your own personal information this is not required.

City State Zip Fax Number
Under penalties of perjury, I understand that | may not redisclose this information according to the Driver
Privacy Protection Act, except as provided in section 119.0712(2), Florida Statutes.

Signature of Requester or Contact Person Telephone Number

Type of Record Request: || Motor Vehicle [ Vessel [ Mobile Home [ Driver License

Current Registration Request ($ .50 per record)

VIN/HIN Number Make Year Title Number License Plate or FL #

[l Current Registered Owner OR [l Owner (as of): Month Day Year

Title Record Request (By Vehicle/Vessel Identification Number or Title Number Only) Records are available up to 10 years

VIN/HIN Number Title Number

Actual Fee calculated at $1.00 per page

(Month, Date and Year) [ Certified Copies If necessary please check box.
($3.00 Per Record)

"1 Specific Title Transaction ($1.00 Per Page) 1 Complete Title History ($15.00 Initial Payment Required;

Request for Transcript of Driver History Record or Motor Vehicle Record Request By Name Only
(Attach a separate sheet for additional requests)

First Middle Last Date of Birth
[C] 3-year driver history $8.00
[Z] 7-year driver history $10.00 DL/ID/FEIN Number Social Security Number
[ClComplete driver history $10.00 **|f you are requesting your own personal information you must include
[Cicertified 3-year, 7-year or complete $10.00 your DL/ID number or social security number and sign this request.
[CIMotor Vehicle Record Request By Owner’s Name Only $0.50
Request for Letter(s) of Verification: Identify what information needs to be stated in the letter of

Examples of this request are for specific information such as make | verification or what document you are requesting. (If additional

or body type of motor vehicle, address on record, or previous Driver | space is needed you may attach a separate sheet.)
license issuance.

Fees for Letter(s) of Verification:

Driver license verification letters - $2.50 for each letter or $3.00 for
a certified copy of letter.

Motor Vehicle verification letters - $1.00 for each letter or $4.00 for
a certified copy of letter.

Additional Driver Record Fees:

If you request a document, such as an application, citation, address
on file; there is a $2.00 search fee per record. An additional $0.50
for each document or a $1.00 for a certified document is required.
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DRIVER PRIVACY PROTECTION ACT EXEMPTIONS

Pursuant to section 119.0712(2), F. S., personal information in motor vehicle and driver license records can be
released for the following purposes, as outlined in 18 United States Code, section 2721.

1.

10.

11.
12.

13.

14.

15.

Personal information referred to in subsection (a) shall be disclosed for use in connection with matters of motor vehicle
or driver safety and theft, motor vehicle emissions, motor vehicle product alterations, recalls, or advisories, performance
monitoring of motor vehicles and dealers by motor vehicle manufacturers, and removal of non-owner records from the
original owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers to carry out the purposes of titles | and IV of the Anti Car Theft Act
of 1992, the Automobile Information Disclosure Act (15 U.S.C. 1231 et seq.), the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.),
and chapters 301, 305, and 321-331 of title 49, and, subject to subsection.

For use by any government agency, including any court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions, or any
private person or entity acting on behalf of a Federal, State, or local agency in carrying out its functions.

For use in connection with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety and theft; motor vehicle emissions; motor vehicle
product alterations, recalls, or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles, motor vehicle parts and dealers;
motor vehicle market research activities, including survey research; and removal of non-owner records from the original
owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers.

For use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business or its agents, employees, or contractors, but only -

(a) to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by the individual to the business or its agents, employees, or
contractors; and

(b) if such information as so submitted is not correct or is no longer correct, to obtain the correct information, but only for
the purposes of preventing fraud by, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest
against, the individual.

For use in connection with any civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any Federal, State, or local court or
agency or before any self-regulatory body, including the service of process, investigation in anticipation of litigation, and
the execution or enforcement of judgments and orders, or pursuant to an order of a Federal, State, or local court.

For use in research activities, and for use in producing statistical reports, so long as the personal information is not
published, redisclosed, or used to contact individuals.

For use by any insurer or insurance support organization, or by a self-insured entity, or its agents, employees, or
contractors, in connection with claims investigation activities, antifraud activities, rating or underwriting.

For use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles.

For use by any licensed private investigative agency or licensed security service for any purpose permitted under this
subsection.

For use by an employer or its agent or insurer to obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a commercial driver's
license that is required under chapter 313 of title 49.

For use in connection with the operation of private toll transportation facilities.

For any other use in response to requests for individual motor vehicle records if the State has obtained the express
consent of the person to whom such personal information pertains.

For bulk distribution for surveys, marketing or solicitations if the State has obtained the express consent of the person to
whom such personal information pertains.

For use by any requester, if the requester demonstrates it has obtained the written consent of the individual to whom the
information pertains.

For any other use specifically authorized under the law of the State that holds the record, if such use is related to the
operation of a motor vehicle or public safety.

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact the Department’s Customer Service
Center at (850) 617-2000.

Visit our website: www.flhsmv.gov
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