
 
 

 

January 4, 2012 
 
 
TO:  All Law Enforcement Agencies 
  Clerks of Court 
  State Attorneys Offices 

FROM:  Maureen Johnson, Chief   
  Bureau of Records 
 
SUBJECT: Purging of Non-Criminal D6 Suspensions 
 
 The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles recently made improvements in the purge 
process for driver history records.  These changes allow for the timely purging of items from the records once 
the retention is met for specific items.  The following is a summary of the purge criteria for non-criminal D6 
suspensions. 
 
For Florida Class E and CDL license holders: 

• D6 suspensions cleared prior to the effective date of the suspension are removed from the record at 
the next scheduled purge. 

• Open D6 suspensions, are purged 7 years from the effective date of the suspension, in compliance with 
section 318.15, Florida Statutes. 

For Florida Class E license holders only: 
• D6 suspensions reinstated on or after the effective date are converted to a correspondence entry at 

the next scheduled purge.  This entry is retained for three years from the correspondence/reinstatement 
date.  The verbiage will appear on the driver record as: 
“SAT D6 SUS 1FAIL TO APPEAR”, “SAT D6 SUS 2FAIL CMPL SCH”, “SAT D6 SUS 3NOT ELG 
SCH”, “SAT D6 SUS 4FAIL TO COMPLY”, “SAT D6 SUS 5FAIL TO PAY” or “SAT D6 SUS 
8FAIL TO ATTND SCH”.  The suspension period is also indicated in the description by including the 
effective date as mm/dd/yy THRU the clear/reinstatement as mm/dd/yy (see example below).   

 
12/01/11       PINELLAS    CORRESPONDENCE    SAT D6 SUS 5FAIL TO PAY 10/20/2010 THRU 12/01/11 

This correspondence entry will appear on complete records but will not appear on 3 or 7 year records.   
 
If you have questions, please contact your court liaison or Court Assist at 850-617-2589 or email at 

CourtAssist@flhsmv.gov.  Court Liaison contact information can be found at www.flhsmv.gov/courts.  
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