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April 26, 2011
TO: Clerks of County Court
FROM: Maureen Johnson, Chief

Motorist Services — Bureau of Records

SUBJECT:  Compliance of Section 318.18(8), Florida Statutes

It has been brought to our attention that there may be some confusion regarding
the application of the additional civil penalty late fee described in s. 318.18(8) (a), Florida
Statutes. It appears some offices may not be correctly applying the additional penalty assessed
when an individual fails to resolve a citation within the required timeline. Florida statute clearly
indicates “any person who fails to comply with the court’s requirements or who fails to pay the
civil penalties specified in this section within the 30-day period provided for in s. 318.14, Florida
Statutes must pay an additional civil penalty of $16”.

Florida law requires the addition of this penalty. While we recognize that some
customers may set up a payment plan prior to the 30 day deadline that may extend the time, the
law does not allow for a wide interpretation of time otherwise. Please review your office policy
and make any changes needed to ensure these fees are assessed correctly.

If you have questions contact Bonnie Scott-Walls at 850-617-2589 or
BonnieScott-Walls@flhsmv.gov.
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