
 
 
 

TO:    Clerks of County Court 
  Law Enforcement Agencies  

State Attorneys 

FROM:   Dana Reiding, Chief  
  Bureau of Records 
 
DATE:  June 15, 2010 
 
SUBJECT:   2010 Legislative Changes 
 
 
The Legislature passed several bills affecting traffic laws this year.  Below is a short summary to 
assist you: 
 
HB 631, effective July 1, 2010: This bill reduces the number of allowable traffic school 
elections from five times in 10 years to five times in a lifetime in section 318.14(9), Florida 
Statutes.  The determination of eligibility is based on the date of the election.  Therefore, if an 
election is made on or after July 1, 2010, the ‘five times in a lifetime’ limit applies. 
 
This bill modifies sections 316.1951 and 318.18(21), Florida Statutes, to authorize a 
governmental entity to immediately tow a motor vehicles parked upon a public street or highway 
for the principal purpose of sale, hire, or rent of the vehicle (curbstoning).  The local government 
issuing the citation shall collect $100 penalty from the owner prior to the release of the vehicle.  
The governmental entity may issue a citation, but this citation is not a uniform traffic citation.  
Although the penalties are listed in section 318.18, Florida Statutes, the penalties are not 
collected by the Clerk of Court. 
 
HB 325, effective July 1, 2010:  This bill establishes authority for local governments to install 
and operate red light cameras.  Procedural guidelines are provided in a separate advisory. 
 
HB 795, effective October 1, 2010:  This bill provides an amnesty period for existing Habitual 
Traffic Offenders to provide proof of compliance under section 318.18(10)(a), Florida Statutes.  
This bill includes other language similar to HB 971.   
 
HB 971, effective September 1, 2010:  This bill modifies several sections of Chapter 316, 
Florida Statutes, related to traffic laws.  A few items to note: 
 

• If the court fails to order the suspension of a person’s registration and driver license for a 
conviction of section 316.646, related to proof of insurance, the Department is mandated 

 



to suspend the person’s registration and driver license.  If a person pays a civil penalty for 
an offense of s. 316.646, or if a judge determines guilt, the person’s driver license will be 
suspended and a stop will be placed against his or her registration.  In order to reinstate 
the driving privilege, the customer must pay $150 reinstatement fee if a first offense or 
$250 if a subsequent offense and show proof of insurance.  A person may elect to provide 
proof of compliance to the Clerk of Court as allowed in section 318.14(10), Florida 
Statutes. 

 
• A person cited for an offense that does not require a mandatory hearing is not required to 

sign and accept the citation.  However, the officer must certify that the citation was 
delivered to the person cited.  We are developing guidelines for this and reviewing the 
Uniform Traffic Citation to determine whether changes are necessary.  We will advise 
you as soon as possible. 

 
• The option to provide proof of compliance under section 318.14(10)(a), F.S., to the Clerk 

is extended to include child support suspensions, non-criminal financial obligations, and 
school truancy.  Additionally, persons cited for driving while license suspended or 
revoked with underlying suspensions for failure to pay civil penalty, failure to pay child 
support, failure to maintain insurance, etc., as listed in section 322.34(10)(a), F.S., may 
provide proof of compliance to the clerk.  In these instances, the DWLS offense will not 
count toward the calculation of a Habitual Traffic Offender status. 

 
HB 1271, effective July 1, 2010:  This bill modifies procedures for toll violations.  We have sent 
a separate advisory to the Clerks of Court and the toll authorities. 
 
HB 5401, effective October 1, 2010:  This bill reduces several traffic violations relating to tag 
violations, commercial driver licenses, and driver license restrictions from criminal to non-
criminal.  Further direction will be provided soon.   
 
HB 5501, effective July 1, 2010:  This bill includes some language related to the 
implementation of red light cameras.  This bill changes crash form reporting requirements; we 
have sent a separate advisory to law enforcement agencies.    
 
In addition, this bill specifically authorizes both the tax collectors and the Clerks of Court to sell 
driver records for the statutory record fees, plus $6.25.  The Clerks of Court are authorized to 
retain the $6.25 surcharge, but must remit the $8 or $10 record fee to the Department within the 
timeframe specified by law.  
 
 
 
 
Please visit our web site at www.flhsmv.gov/courts for more helpful information and direct any 
questions to Bonnie Scott-Walls at (850) 617-2586 or send an email to BonnieScott-
Walls@flhsmv.gov.  
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