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Thousands of vehicles are sold in Florida every year. As a seller,
there are certain things you should know before you enter into the
sale of a vehicle. You will want to be aware of the process to transfer
the title and the forms that are required to do so. Most importantly
you will want to protect yourself by completing a Notice of Sale,
which removes your name from the vehicle so you are no longer
civilly liable for the vehicle you sold. Florida law requires sellers to file
a Notice of Sale as of July 1, 2009.

BEFORE THE SALE:

Make sure your insurance is up to date. In Florida, the Depart-
ment of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may suspend your
driving privilege, including your vehicle tag and registration, for
up to three years or until you provide proof of Florida insurance,
whichever is first. Click here for more information on Florida’s
insurance requirements. Insurance is critical should you allow

a prospective purchaser to test-drive the vehicle. You will need
insurance if you are going to request a (demonstration purposes

only) temporary tag.

Get your paperwork in order. Locate the registration and title.
In order to make the sale legal in Florida, you must transfer

the title to the buyer. If you have lost or misplaced your title,
you must apply for a new one before you can sell your vehicle.
Click here for information on obtaining a duplicate title. Down-
load form HSMV 82101 and send the completed form and the
duplicate title fee to the local tax collector’s office. Expedited
service is available in some tax collector offices. Contact your
local county tax collector’s office to see if they currently offer this
service. For counties offering the expedited service, a $7 fee will
apply in addition to the standard title fees. Effective September
1,2009, the fast title fee will increase to $10.

Research the fair market value of your car. The Kelley Blue
Book has free information available. You should also research
the Internet and the local classified ads to compare other similar
vehicles offered in the area.


http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82050.pdf
http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/frfaqgen.html#2
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/faqtitle.html
www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82101.pdf
www.flhsmv.gov/hsmvdocs/Fees-01.pdf

Determine how you will advertise the vehicle. There are vari-
ous options including online, local newspaper classified ads

and car buying guides. Also determine whether you will place
a“For Sale” sign or other notation on the vehicle. Florida law
prohibits the parking of any vehicle on public right of ways or on
private property without the permission of the property owner
for the purpose of sale. This is generally referred to as “curbston-
ing”” Also, Florida law presumes any person, firm partnership

or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or
deals in three or more motor vehicles in any 12-month period to
be a motor vehicle dealer and must have an appropriate license
issued by the state.

Determine whether the vehicle needs repairs. You should be
honest with the buyer and disclose any known repairs needed.
You are also required to disclose if the vehicle has any brands,
such as flooded or rebuilt. While not required, you may wish
to have a certified mechanic check the vehicle and provide the
customer a copy of the inspection report

Clean your car. 1t would be a good idea to get it detailed. You
never get a second chance to make a firstimpression!

DURING THE SALE:

Collect the funds from the buyer. Accept payment in the full
amount in the form of cash, money order or cashier’s check only.
If the car you are selling requires financing, make sure the buyer
obtains his own financing and pays you in full. This protects you
from having to take action due to non-payment.



AFTER THE SALE:

Transfer the title. Once you agree upon the deal, you must
transfer the title to the buyer. On the title, the seller should fill

in the name and address of the purchaser, the odometer infor-
mation, selling price and the date sold in the Transfer of Title by
Seller section. The seller must then sign his/her name in the left
column in the Seller section and print his/her name in the right
column, same section. The purchaser should then sign his/her
name in the left column in the Purchaser section and print his/
her name in the right column. If there is a co-purchaser, he/she
should follow the same instructions in the Co-Purchaser section.

The Department encourages sellers to have the buyer accompa-
ny them to the local tax collector office to properly transfer the
vehicle title. This protects both, the seller who knows that title
has been transferred out of his/her name as well as the buyer by
ensuring the seller has provided him/her with the proper owner-
ship documents.

Remove the license plates. The buyer must apply for a new tag;
the old tag stays with the seller. The seller should return the
license plate to the local tax collector office.

EXTREMELY IMPORTANT

PROTECT YOURSELF! - File form HSMV 82050.

As of July 1, 2009, Florida law requires sellers to file form HSMV
82050. Filing this form with the local tax collector will remove
the seller’s registration from the vehicle and help the seller avoid
any civil liability for the operation of the motor vehicle after the
sale. Once filed, it becomes the purchaser’s responsibility to
apply for the title and registration before he/she can legally op-
erate the motor vehicle. If the purchaser fails to do this, and the
seller does NOT file form HSMV 82050, the seller can be held li-
able for actions pertaining to the motor vehicle, even if the seller
no longer possesses it. The form also documents the sell and is
the legal receipt. Keep copies of the bill of sale (we suggest it be
notarized), certificate of title or other type of transaction docu-
ment showing it was sold. Send this completed form to the local
tax collector.


http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82050.pdf
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82050.pdf



