Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Sample Registration Fee Calculations

Vehicles Vessels Mobile Homes Off-Highway Vehicles

These fees should only be used as an estimate. For exact renewal fee, please contact your local County Tax Collector.

Vehicles

The following is an example of the registration renewal fee for a "2007 Acura 4 Door" with a net weight of 3,586 pounds. This vehicle currently has a regular (non-specialty) license plate.

SAMPLE RENEWAL REGISTRATION FEES Current Fee
STATE Registration base tax * $44.00
Additional Statutory Fees **

STATE Retro Reflective Material fee $1.50
STATE Florida Real Time Vehicle Information System fee $1.25
STATE Air Pollution fee $1.00
STATE Emergency Medical Services $0.10
STATE Law Enforcement Radio Systems $1.00
STATE General Revenue/DJJ Surcharge (previously Juvenile Justice) $5.50
STATE Transport Disadvantage $1.50
STATE STTF Surcharge on all vehicles (previously Surcharge State Transport) $4.00
STATE Advanced Replacement fee $2.80
STATE Automated license plate validation sticker printer service fee $3.00
STATE registration service charge $2.50
Subtotal of Additional Statutory Fees $24.15

Subtotal to STATE $68.15

Tax Collector registration service charge $2.50
Tax Collector branch fee $0.50
Tax Collector mailing fee $0.70
Subtotal retained by Tax Collector $3.70

GRAND TOTAL $71.85

* To determine estimated fees for another vehicle, locate the base tax for the vehicle at the following link: www.flhsmv.gov/DHSMVFees.htm

** The additional statutory fees may change if the plate type, vehicle type or registration use type changes.



Vessels

The length of a vessel is used to determine registration fees.
The following is an example of a vessel registration renewal for a vessel with a length of 18 feet.

SAMPLE RENEWAL REGISTRATION FEES Current Fee
STATE Registration base tax * $28.75
Additional Statutory Fees

STATE Florida Real Time Vehicle Information System fee $0.50
STATE Law Enforcement Radio Trust Fund fee $1.00
STATE Automated license plate validation sticker printer service fee $3.00
Subtotal of Additional Statutory Fees $4.50

Subtotal to STATE $33.25

Tax Collector registration service charge $2.25
Tax Collector branch fee $0.50
Tax Collector mailing fee $0.70
Subtotal retained by Tax Collector $3.45

GRAND TOTAL $36.70

This is the Vessel Registration Fee Chart covering all vessel lengths.
* Some counties impose a registration fee of 50% of the STATE Registration base tax.


Mobile Homes

The length of a mobile home is used to determine registration fees. The following is an example of a mobile home registration renewal for a mobile home with a length of 60 feet.

SAMPLE RENEWAL REGISTRATION FEES Current Fee
STATE Registration base tax $45.00
Additional Statutory Fees

STATE Florida Real Time Vehicle Information System fee $1.25
STATE Air Pollution fee $1.00
STATE Emergency Medical Services $0.10
STATE Automated license plate validation sticker printer service fee $3.00
STATE Mobile home relocation fee * $1.00
STATE registration service charge $2.50
Subtotal of Additional Statutory Fees $8.85

Subtotal to STATE $53.85

Tax Collector registration service charge $2.50
Tax Collector branch fee $0.50
Tax Collector mailing fee $0.70
Subtotal retained by Tax Collector $3.70

GRAND TOTAL $57.55

* The mobile home relocation fee is charged on mobile homes located in a mobile home park regulated under Chapter 723.


Off-Highway Vehicles

Off-highway vehicles (OHV) are not registered. However, during the titling process, a decal is produced for placement on the OHV. The fees associated with the production of the decal increased. The below example is for an original title for an OHV.

SAMPLE TITLE & DECAL FEES Current Fee
STATE Title fee $29.00
Additional Statutory Fees

STATE Florida Real Time Vehicle Information System fee $1.25
STATE Automated license plate validation sticker printer service fee $3.00
***STATE Fast Title fee * $7.00
***STATE Title Late fee ** $10.00
STATE registration service charge $2.50
Subtotal of Additional Statutory Fees $23.75

Subtotal to STATE $52.75

Tax Collector title service charge $4.25
Tax Collector registration service charge $2.50
Tax Collector branch fee $1.00
Tax Collector mailing fee $0.70
Subtotal retained by Tax Collector $8.45

GRAND TOTAL $61.20

*The authority for charging the Fast Title fee is Section 317.0016. This fee did not increase.

**The authority for charging the Title Late fee is Section 317.0006(2). This fee did not increase.

***Optional fee.

NOTE: Branch fee and mailing fee are charged at the option of the tax collector.

Vehicles Vessels Mobile Homes Off-Highway Vehicles

Return to DHSMV Fee Schedule


Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2008 State of Florida