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Courtney Heidelberg: Welcome to Expressways produced by the Florida Department of Highway Safety
and Motor Vehicles.

In this edition... we’ll talk about the Move Over law.

We’'ll take you on a tour of our new driver license office in Broward County.

WEe’'ll learn about new requirements for disabled parking permit holders.

We’'ll tell you what we learned during our campaign to Ticket Aggressive Cars and Trucks.

And we’ll hear about how to become a Florida State Trooper. But first, a message from Executive
Director Julie Jones.

Julie L. Jones, DHSMV Executive Director: Thank you for taking the time to experience this unique
update of our state’s highway safety agency. | hope you take advantage of our services to enhance your
driving experience in Florida.
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Courtney Heidelberg: Can you tell us what you know about Florida’s Move Over law?
Celeste Johnson, driver: Nothing.

Courtney Heidelberg: The law requires motorists - when they see an emergency vehicle or a wrecker
parked roadside with flashing emergency lights - to move over to the left or at least one lane.

If you can’t move over safely, or if you are traveling on a two-lane roadway, you must slow down 20
mph less than the posted speed limit.

At a press conference in Tallahassee to address the issue, Capt. Mark Brown said there is a good reason
why you should move over.

Capt. Mark Brown, FHP: Since 1999, 179 law enforcement officers nationwide have been killed by
motorists while they were stopped on the side of the roadway. Thousands have been injured.

Courtney Heidelberg: The Florida Highway Patrol conducted an enforcement and awareness campaign in
February and in 30 days ticketed nearly 1,300 motorists for failure to observe the Move Over Law.
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Trooper Gus Smyrnios, FHP: The penalty for the move over law, for violating that law, is a moving
violation, which generally runs, roughly, $150 depending on the county, and there is a three point
violation against the driver license.”

Courtney Heidelberg: So, when approaching emergency vehicles or tow trucks, Move Over or slow
down, and be safe.
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Courtney Heidelberg: DHSMV had a customer cut the ribbon May 23 to open the new driver license
office in Lauderdale Lakes in Broward County.

The office is located at 3718-3 West Oakland Park Boulevard. The new facility replaces two smaller
offices, one in Fort Lauderdale and one in Lauderdale Lakes.

Attending the ribbon-cutting were DHSMV’s Director of Motorist Services Boyd Walden and Broward
County Clerk of the Courts, Howard Forman, among other local officials and DHSMV members.

Shaida Horard, DHSMV Examiner: The new office is more efficient to me, there is more space. The
customers feel as if we just get them in and out. It’s quicker, and it’s just wonderful. We have as much
equipment as we need, and everyone is just happy to be in a newer office.

Vernon Williamson, DHSMV Examiner: It’s more organized by the layout, so people are getting in,
getting out quicker, which of course helps us serve them better.”

Courtney Heidelberg: As of the end of May, the average wait time had been cut from 30 minutes at the
old Lauderdale Lakes office to eight in the new facility.

The new office features more than 10-thousand square feet of space and is staffed with more than 40
people to process driver licenses and conduct administrative hearings for hardship licenses.

Customers can receive service in English, Spanish and Creole...

Greeting in Spanish: Hola, bienvenidos a la oficina de Lauderdale Lakes.

Greeting in Creole: Alo, Bienvenue lan office Lauderdale Lakes. Nou tout la pou aideou.
Hello, welcome to the new Lauderdale Lakes office... We love it!
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Courtney Heidelberg: Do you or someone you know have a blue disabled parking permit? If so, then you
need to know about new changes to Florida law.
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Effective Oct. 1, any person issued a blue permanent disabled parking permit must renew the permit
every four years and when doing so, provide a certificate of disability completed within the last 12
months. That means every blue disabled parking permit holder will, at least every four years and within
12 months of the date of their renewal, be required to have a certifying authority fill out HSMV Form
83039. The form is available online. Permit holders will not have to pay a renewal fee.

3k 3k 3k 3k 3k 3k %k 3k ok 3k 3k 3k %k 3k sk 3k 3k 3k %k %k 3k 3k 3k 3k %k %k %k %k 3k 3k %k %k %k %k >k %k %k k k

Courtney Heidelberg: The Florida Highway Patrol announced the preliminary enforcement results from
the Patrol’s Ticketing Aggressive Cars and Trucks campaign.

Capt. Nancy Rasmussen, FHP: During the months of February through May, we had three campaigns
dealing with aggressive driving and trucks. Florida Highway Patrol troopers wrote over 2,000 citations
dealing with aggressive driving. Aggressive driving include speeding, reckless driving, improper lane
change...

Courtney Heidelberg: The campaign, announced at Daytona National Speedway, also featured public
messages to increase awareness of safe driving behaviors around one another and of the heightened
risk of receiving a ticket for a violation.

Capt. Derek Barrs, FHP: This is a moving infraction citation, that would be three points on your driver’s
license. And depending on where you are throughout the state, depends on what the amount the
citation would be.

Courtney Heidelberg: FHP collaborated with the Florida Trucking Association to conduct activities at
schools and community centers around the state to educate drivers on how to share the road safely
with trucks.
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Courtney Heidelberg: The Florida Highway Patrol Academy in North Florida can be the first step in a
fulfilling career in law enforcement.

The Florida Highway Patrol accepts applications for the position of state trooper at least twice a year. All
new recruits must complete 28 weeks of training, and recruits with law enforcement certification must
complete eight weeks of transitional training.

Maj. Mark Brown, FHP: Our current academy is 28 weeks and it is designed to mentally and physically
prepare recruits to do the job of a state trooper. There are many things involved in it. We teach them
how to march. We teach them how to act as a group. And we do the academics as well, teach them
everything they need in order to pass the state exam. This includes physical activities, it includes driving,
it also includes an extensive firearms program and then defensive tactics, as well. So we run them


http://www.flhsmv.gov/forms/handiform.html
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through not only a mentally tough academy, but it's physically tough and it's demanding on their
abilities to not only drive a car or fire a gun, and it's also to protect themselves, as well.

Courtney Heidelberg: Individuals interested in learning more about becoming a trooper should visit
BeATrooper.com.
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Thank you for watching Expressways. Drive safely!



