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Boundary Map

North:  36th Street
South: 88th Street - Kendall Drive
West:  SW 107th Avenue 
East: Atlantic  
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ATTACHMENT A

Should the Agency find it in the best interests of the State, it can review submittal outside of the delineated boundary area, as per Attachment A











 

 

 

Attachment C 

DIVISION OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

PLANS REVIEW FEE, PROCEDURES, 

REQUIREMENTS 

AND 

APPLICATION FOR PLANS REVIEW  



 
DIVISION OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

 

Plans Review Fees, Procedures and Requirements 
 
 

The plans for all construction of any new state owned or state lease building and renovation 
or alteration of any existing state owned or state leased building are subject to review and 
approval of the Division of State Fire Marshal for compliance with the Uniform Fire Safety 
Standards prior to commencement of construction or change of occupancy.  The Division of 
State Fire Marshal may inspect state owned and state leased spaces as necessary prior to 
occupancy or during construction, renovation, or alteration to ascertain compliance with the 
uniform fire safety standards as per Florida Statutes 633.085 and 69A-52, Florida 
Administrative Code. 
 
69A-3.009 (12) , FAC, defines a state owned building as: 
(a) “State-owned building,” as used in Chapter 633, F.S., and any rule adopted by the 
State Fire Marshal, except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, means any 
structure used or intended for supporting or sheltering any use or occupancy of which the 
state, any state agency or department, or the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust 
Fund is the record owner of the legal title to such structure. 
(b) “State-owned building” does not mean or include a pole barn, a picnic shelter, a lift 
station, an animal pen, an animal feeder, a pump house, a one-family private residence, a 
two-family private residence, a forestry fire tower or other fire tower, a radio tower, a 
building no longer in use, an empty building, or a greenhouse. 
 
 
DESIGN CRITERIA: 
 The Life Safety portion of the plans shall be designed in accordance with the National Fire 
Protection Association (NFPA) 101, Life Safety Code; NFPA 1, Fire Prevention Code; 
and adopted NFPA Standards. See Florida Administrative Code 69A-3.012 for the 
adopted edition of NFPA 101 & 1 and a list of adopted NFPA Standards. 
(https://www.flrules.org/) 
 
 
PLANS REVIEW FEES:  
The fee for plans review is determined by multiplying the estimated construction/ 
renovation cost of the building, by the constant 0.0025.   The minimum fee is $100.00.  This 
does not include the cost of the land, site improvements, civil work or furniture & 
equipment. 
 
Example: 
$1,000.000.00 Construction Cost x .0025 = 2,500.00 Fee 
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METHOD OF PAYMENT  
After plans are received an invoice will be prepared and sent at which time payment can be 
made by personal check, money order or, if a state agency is paying, a Samas – Journal 
Transfer. Please make check or money order payable to the Department of Financial 
Services. Fill in the memo portion with “SFM Plans Review fee” and return payment with 
invoice. 
 
 
WHAT TO SUBMIT 
Plans and specifications are required to be signed and sealed in accordance with Florida 
Statute. Submit completed application form DFS-K3-1973 and two sets of plans and one 
set of specifications to: 
 
If Sending By Regular Mail   If Sending By Overnight  Service         
Division of State Fire Marshal  Division of State Fire Marshal 
Plans Review Section    Plans Review Section 
200 East Gaines Street   325 John Knox Road, Atrium Building 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0342  Tallahassee, Florida 32303 
 
 
PLANS SUBMISSION: 
The Division of State Fire Marshal will require the submitter to furnish two sets of plans and 
one set of specifications for review to the Plans Review Section.  The submitter may, 
however, submit plans at an earlier stage, i.e., design review, in which case only one 
unsigned set needs to be submitted. Only one design review will be allowed per project.  
When the documents are approved for construction, the plans and specs will be stamped 
"APPROVED" and returned to the submitter.  The stamped set of plans must be kept on the 
job site for the fire safety inspector's use at the time of inspection.  It shall be the 
responsibility of the submitter to see that the "approved" set of plans is on the construction 
site before work begins and remains there until final inspection and approval has been 
issued.  Plan approval is good for one year from the date of issue.  The construction contract 
must be let within this period or the approval will expire and the plans must be re-submitted 
with another review fee. 
The editions of the pertinent codes that will apply to your project will be those that are 
adopted at the date of your first submittal, regardless of phase, i.e. 50% or final, and will not 
change even if a newer edition is adopted during the review process.   
 
Any change orders or redesign during construction that affect life safety shall be submitted 
for review with the State Fire Marshal’s file number indicated.  There is no additional fee 
required for changes. 
 
The review process allows 30 calendar days for review of all state-owned property and 
10 working days for review of state leased property.   
  
If there are any special circumstances or hazards that require further clarification, the 
reviewer will attempt to contact you; therefore, please include the name and telephone 
number of a contact person with your plan submission.  Please remember that if you are 



called and asked for additional information or clarification, the reviewer needs this 
information in writing before he can approve the project.  If the statutory time (10 working 
days on a lease or 30 calendar days on state owned) expires he must disapprove the project 
and a re-submittal process may add further delay to the project. 
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DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES 
Division of State Fire Marshal- Bureau of Fire Prevention 
 

 
APPLICATION FOR PLAN REVIEW 

 
By submitting this form you are requesting that the State Fire Marshal’s Office complete a plan review in 
accordance with F.S. 633. This form must be completed in its entirety. Partial or incomplete submittals may result 
in delay of processing this request. 
 

1. CONTACT INFORMATION 

a. Applicant’s Name:       Email:       Phone:       

b. State Agency Contact:       Email:       Phone:       

c. Architect of Record:       Email:       Phone:       
d. Engineer of Record for Fire Alarm System: 
          Email:       Phone:       

e. Engineer of Record for Fire Sprinkler 
    System:       Email:       Phone:       

2. PROJECT NAME OR DESCRIPTION       

3. TYPE OF SUBMITTAL 

a.  Design Review (<100% Construction Documents) 
b.  100% Construction Documents 
c.  Revision for SFM # :        (Complete items 1a and 7 only) 
d.  Shop Drawings for SFM # :        (Complete items 1a and 7 only) 
e.  Other:      

4. BUILDING INFORMATION a.  State Owned* b.  State-Leased,** lease #:       

 c. Design or State Agency Project #:       

 d. Project Square Footage:       e. State Agency or University: 
        

 f. Building Name:       g. Building #:       

 h. Building Street Address:       

 i. City/State/Zip:       j. County:       

 

k. NFPA Occupancy Type: (check all that apply) 
 
Ambulatory Health Care   Apartments              
Detention and Correctional   Day-Care      
One and Two Family   Mercantile           
Hotels and Dormitories   Health Care         
Lodging or Rooming Houses  Business           
Residential Board and Care   Industrial   
Storage     Assembly  

 
l. Is this a change in occupancy? 

 Yes No 
m. FBC Construction Type: 
       

 n. Building Height:       o. Number of Stories:       

 
p. Life Safety Systems: (check all that apply) 

 Fire Alarm System     Fire Sprinkler     Standpipe      
Other:           

 
q. Estimated Construction Cost (not including the cost of land, site improvement, 
civil work or furniture and equipment):       

 
 
 
DFS-K3-1973   REV 04/09 
Adopted in Rule 69A-52.003 F.A.C. 
                                                Page 1, SFM # ______________ 

 



 
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES 
Division of State Fire Marshal 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR PLAN REVIEW 
5. SITE INFORMATION a. Site Name:       

 b. Site Street Address:       

 c. City/State/Zip:       

6. FEES a. Person/Company responsible for  
    payment of fees:       

 b. Street Address:       

 c. City/State/Zip:       d. Phone:       

7. RETURN PLANS  a. Plans should be returned to: 
      

 b. Street Address:       

 c. City/State/Zip:       d. Phone:       

Plans and specification shall be signed and sealed in accordance with Florida Statute 471 and 481. Submit this 
completed application with two sets of contract documents and one set of specifications to: 
 
If Sending By Regular Mail                              If Sending By Overnight Service          
Division of State Fire Marshal   Division of State Fire Marshal 
Plans Review Section    Plans Review Section 
200 East Gaines Street    325 John Knox Road, Atrium Building 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0342   Tallahassee, Florida 32303 
 

* 69A-3.009 (12), FAC, defines a state owned building as: 
(a) “State-owned building,” as used in Chapter 633, F.S., and any rule adopted by the State Fire Marshal, except 
as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, means any structure used or intended for supporting or sheltering 
any use or occupancy of which the state, any state agency or department, or the Trustees of the Internal 
Improvement Trust Fund is the record owner of the legal title to such structure.(b) “State-owned building” does not 
mean or include a pole barn, a picnic shelter, a lift station, an animal pen, an animal feeder, a pump house, a one-
family private residence, a two-family private residence, a forestry fire tower or other fire tower, a radio tower, a 
building no longer in use, an empty building, or a greenhouse. 

** 69A-3.009 (13), FAC, defines a state leased space as: 
 “State-leased” means that the state, any state agency or department, or the Trustees of the Internal Improvement 
Trust Fund is the lessee which is leasing the building or space from a lessor.  
 
If this is a state lease at a Department of Management Services facility, please send a copy of this completed form 
to: 
 
Real Property Administrator 
4050 Esplanade Way,  
Suite 315  
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0950 
 
 
 
 
 
DFS-K3-1973   REV 04/09  
Adopted in Rule 69A-52.003 F.A.C. 
                                                                                                       Page 2, SFM # _______________ 

 



Attachment D 
 
 

APPLICABLE TO DRIVER LICENSES TESTING FACILITIES ONLY 
 
 

SAMPLE STANDARD CURB 
 
 
 
 
 
            CURB 
 
 
              
20’ 
 
 
                9’ 
 
               27’ 
 
 
 
 
Provide an unobstructed space twenty-seven (27) feet wide and twenty (20) feet 
long.  The space shall be outlined and diagonally marked with yellow traffic 
paint to prohibit the general public  from parking on or blocking the area during 
the driver license office hours.  In the center of the space shall be a space nine 
(9) feet wide and twenty (20) feet long for the actual parking demonstration.  
There shall be a concrete curb six (6) inches high and eight (8) feet wide placed 
two (2) feet out from the front thus making the actual; parking stall 9’ x 18’.  This 
9’ x 20’ space is also to be outlined with yellow traffic paint but not marked 
diagonally as the other portion.  A diagram of the above requirement is shown 
above.  The location of the parking spaces shall be reviewed and approved by 
the Department. 
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