
2006 Legislation Affecting Traffic

And Motor Vehicle Laws
Ch. Law 2006-225
HB 155 Vehicle Crashes



     Effective 10/01/06

316.027(1)

The statutory requirement for drivers to remain at the scene of a crash 



involving death or personal injury are the same for crashes occurring on 



public or private property. 

316.027(5)

The requirement to immediately stop a vehicle involved in a crash 




resulting in injury or death does not apply to crashes at motor sports 



events 
occurring in a closed-course facility. 

Ch. Law 2006-247
HB 187 Lawful Testing for Alcohol


     Effective 10/01/06

316.1932 & 

New language is added to both of these sections indicating the types of 

327.352

information that are available upon request as it relates to the process of 



testing for alcohol and the equipment that is used.

Ch. Law 2006-5
HB 201 Non-judicial Sale of Vessels
 
     Effective 07/01/06

328.17(4)(b)

A new paragraph is created allowing marina’s to obtain a possessory lien 



upon any vessel in a wrecked, junked, or substantially dismantled 




condition which has been left abandoned at a marina. 

328.17(5)

Changes are made to the notification process required when a possessory 



lien is involved. 

Ch. Law 2006-293
HB 281 State of Vision License Plate

     Effective 07/01/06

320.08056(4)

The State of Vision license plate is created.  The $25 annual use fee shall 



be distributed to the Florida Association of Agencies Serving the Blind, 



Inc. to fund direct support services to blind and visually impaired people. 

Ch. Law 2006-
HB 561 Offenses Involving Insurance

     Effective 07/01/06

316.068(2)

A specific list of information required on the crash report are delineated.  



The absence of information in the report regarding the existence of 



passengers in the vehicles involved constitutes a rebuttable presumption 



that no such passengers were involved in the reported crash. 

322.21(8) (b)

An additional fee of $180 is to be collected when a driver is reinstating a 



license that has been suspended or revoked pursuant to ss. 817.234(8) or 



(9) or s. 817.505, F.S. 

322.26(9)

A conviction in any court having jurisdiction over offenses committed 



under s. 817.234(8) or (9) or s. 817.505, shall result in a mandatory driver 



license revocation. 

Ch. Law 2006-226
HB 1173 Driver Records



     Effective 01/01/07

322.20(13)

The Department of Highway Safety is required to make the driving 



records of teens available for viewing by the parents or guardians of the 



minor via the Internet, free of charge.  The availability of free records to 



parents ceases after the minor becomes 18 years old. 

Ch. Law 2006-296
HB 1465 Enhanced Penalty Zones


     Effective 07/01/06

316.1893(1)

A new section of law is created requiring the Florida Department of 



Transportation to identify those areas of the state that are prone to high 



crash rates.  These areas will be identified as “Enhanced Penalty Zones.”




The FDOT, the DOE and DHSMV are to conduct a study of highway 



safety and transportation issues to identify measurable improvements to 



reduce highway fatalities by one-third. 

318.18(3)(e) & 
Drivers cited for speeding within an enhanced penalty zone will pay an 318.21 (15)

additional $50 fine which is to be distributed to trauma centers in Florida. 

Ch. Law 2006-297
HB 1589 Specialty License Plates


     Effective 07/01/06

320.08056(4) &
The Florida Memorial College license plate is changed to the Florida 320.08058

Memorial University license plate. 

320.08056(4) &
The Homeownership For All license plate is created.  The $25 annual use 320.08058

fee shall be distributed to the Homeownership For All, Inc. to fund 




programs that provide and promote affordable housing in this state. 

320.08056(8)(a)
The minimum sales requirement for specialty license plates will not apply 



to collegiate license plates. 

320.08058(23)(a)
The Keep Kids Drug-Free Foundation, Inc. is permitted to use up to 10 



percent of the annual use fee for marketing and administrative cost. 

320.08058(48) (b)
The Sportsmen’s National Land Trust is permitted to recoup all startup 



costs. 

320.0807(5)

A current or former President of the Senate or Speaker of the House may 



make application for a license plate stamped, “Senate President” or 



“House Speaker”. 

320.08056(4) &
The Future Farmers of America license plate is created.  The $25 annual 320.08058

use fee shall be distributed to the Florida Future Farmers of America 



Foundation, Inc. to fund its activities. 

Ch. Law 2006-260
HB 7035 Crash Reports



     Effective 10/01/06

316.006(5)(e)

The public records exemption previously scheduled to sunset is reenacted. 

Ch. Law 2006-290
HB 7079 Highway Safety



     Effective 10/01/06

261.10(2)

A new paragraph is added addressing the liability of governmental 




entities who provide public areas for off-highway recreation. (Effective 



July 1, 2008)

261.20


A new section is created with extensive new language regarding the 



operation of off-highway vehicles on public lands.  This new section 



addresses restrictions, required safety equipment and certain prohibited 



acts, with penalties.  (Effective July 1, 2008)

316.003(43)

A combination of vehicles may include one full mount, whereby a smaller 



transport vehicle is placed completely on the last towed vehicle. 

316.006(2) &  (3)
The board of directors of a homeowners’ association as defined in chapter 



720 may, by a majority vote, elect to have state traffic laws enforced by 



local law enforcement agencies on private roads that are controlled by the 



association. 

316.0085

Mountain and off-road bicycling are added to this section.

316.1001(2)

The owner of a leased vehicle for which a citation is issued for failure to 



pay a toll is not responsible for payment of the citation. 

316.192(1) (b)

Fleeing a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle is reckless driving 



per se. 

316.1955(1) (b)
The owner of a leased vehicle is not responsible for disabled parking 



violations. 

316.2015(1)

Language permitting a passenger to ride on the exterior of a vehicle in a 



seat securely affixed to the vehicle is removed.  

316.2015(2) (a)
Specific exemptions are listed for those individuals that are permitted to 



ride on the exterior of a vehicle. 

316.2015(2) (b)
It is unlawful for a minor child under 18 to ride on a limited access 



highway within the open body of a pickup or flatbed truck unless they are 



secured in seats with safety restraints.  A county is exempt if, by majority 



vote, it chooses to be exempt from this paragraph. 

316.2095(1)

Motorcycles are no longer required to have handholds for passengers. 

316.211(6)

Each motorcycle registered to a person under 21 years of age must display 


a license plate that is unique in design and color.  (This paragraph is 



effective January 1, 2007.)

316.2123(1)

The operation of an off-highway vehicle is permitted by a licensed driver 



during daylight hours on an unpaved roadway where the posted speed 



limit is less than 35 mph and proof of ownership is available.  Minors may 


operate off-highway vehicles in the same manner if supervised by a 



licensed driver. 

316.2123(2)

A county is exempt from this section if the governing body, by majority 



vote, votes to exempt the county from this section. 

316.2125(3)

A local governmental entity may enact an ordinance regarding golf cart 



operation and equipment which is more restrictive than those enumerated 



in this section, for unlicensed drivers. 

316.2128

Retailers selling motorized scooters or miniature motorcycles must 



prominently display information that indicates to its customers that 



particular scooters are prohibited from being operated on Florida 




roadways.  These notices must also be provided at the point of sale. 

316.221(2)

Dump trucks and vehicles having dump bodies are exempt from the 



requirement to have a light on the license plate. 

316.302

The number of hours a commercial driver may operate their vehicle for 



intrastate driving is modified, with certain exceptions being made for the 



transportation of agricultural products.  The exemption from federal 



regulations for the transportation of non-placarded hazardous materials is 



reduced from a 200 mile radius to 150 miles. 

316.515(5) (a)

The Department of Transportation is authorized to issue an over width 



permit for implements of husbandry greater than 130 inches, but not more 



than 170 inches, in width. 

316.515(5) (b)

Equipment that does not exceed 136 inches and not capable of exceeding 



20 mph and used for harvesting forestry products is authorized to use the 



roadway, not to exceed 10 miles and only during daylight hours. 

318.14(9)

Any driver charged with exceeding the posted speed limit by more than 30 


mph will not be permitted to elect traffic school. 

318.143(1) (f)

Courts may require a minor and his or her parents to participate in a 



registered youthful driver monitoring service. 

318.1435

The Youthful driver monitoring service is defined in this newly created 



section as an entity that enables parents to monitor the driving 




performance of their minor children.  Those entities providing such 



services may register with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor 



Vehicles. 

318.18(3) (g)

A second or subsequent offense of exceeding the posted speed by more 



than 30 mph will result in the fine being doubled.  For the purpose of this 



paragraph, the term conviction means a finding of guilt as a result of a jury 


verdict, nonjury trial, or entry of a plea of guilty.  The increased fine 



amounts are to be used to fund trauma services. 

318.18(12)

The fine for loads dropping is increased to $200 and the driver licenses 



suspension for a second violation within 5 years is increased to a 




minimum of 1 year. 

318.19(5)

A charge of speeding in excess of 30 mph over the posted limit will 



require a mandatory hearing. 

318.32(1) (d)

A traffic court hearing officer may not revoke a driver license.

320.015(1)

Clarification is made that display homes or other inventory being held by a 


manufacturer or dealer of modular housing may not be taxed as real 



property. 

320.02(1)

Effective July 1, 2008, a motorcycle, motor driven cycle or moped  



registration may not be issued unless 
the registrant has a motorcycle 



endorsement on their driver license. 

320.03(8) &

The owner of a leased vehicle is not responsible for paying registration 320.07


fees, fines or late charges. 

320.0706

The owner of a dump truck may place the rear license plate on the gate no 



higher than 60 inches to allow for better visibility. 

320.08056(4) &
The Future Farmers of America license plate is created.  An annual use fee 320.08058

of $25 shall be distributed to the organization to fund its activities.

320.08056(8)

Collegiate license plates are exempt from the minimum sales 




requirements. 

320.089

The Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom Veterans 



license plates are created.  Applicants must show proof of eligibility 



before the license plate can be issued. 

322.01(16)

The definition of “driver license” is conformed to federal code.

322.01(43) & (44)
New definitions for identification card, temporary driver license and 



temporary identification card are created to conform to federal code.

322.05(2)

A teen applicant for a Class E license may only have the issuance of the 



license delayed if they have been convicted of a moving violation. 

322.051(1)

The minimum age requirement for an identification card is lowered to age 



five. 

322.051(1)(a)3.g.(IV)
The term “refugee” is added to this section.

322.051(1)(a)3.g.(VII)
New language is added allowing the department to accept evidence that an 


application is pending for the adjustment of status.

322.051(1)(a)3.g.
Presentation of any documents within this sub-paragraph will entitle the 



applicant to a license not to exceed one year. 

322.08(2)(c)7.d.
The term “refugee” is added to this section.

322.08(2)(c)7.g.
New language is added allowing the department to accept evidence that an 


application is pending for the adjustment of status.

322.08(2)(c)7.

Presentation of any documents within this sub-paragraph will entitle the 



applicant to a license not to exceed one year.

322.12(5) (a)

Effective July 1, 2008, all applicants for a motorcycle endorsement must 



show proof of completion of the motorcycle safety course. 

322.2615

Throughout this entire section, all references to “arrest” or “has been 



arrested” are removed and replaced with new language.  Specific reference 


to a BAL of .08 or higher is added. 

322.2615(2)

Materials submitted to the department by a law enforcement agency or 



correctional agency including the crash report shall be considered self-



authenticating and shall be in 
the record for consideration by the hearing 



officer. 

322.2615(6) (b)
The issuance of subpoenas in formal hearings is limited to those persons 



named in reports filed by the arresting agency. 

322.2615(13)

A law enforcement agency may appeal any decision of the department 



invalidating a suspension by a petition for writ of certiorari to the circuit 



court in the county wherein a formal or informal review as conducted. 

627.733(1)

Taxicab owners must show proof of liability as provided in chapter 324.

318.1215

The county optional fee assessed on each traffic citation for the purpose of 


funding driver education is raised from $3 to $5. 

316.083(1)

Drivers passing a bicycle must leave at least three feet between the car and 


cyclist. 




The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles must conduct a 



study of the driver licensing process and the cost associated with 




providing that service. The report must include information regarding the 



feasibility of   outsourcing any portion of the driver licensing process. A 



cost-benefit analysis must be included, as well as any potential concerns 



regarding the protection of personal information.

Ch. Law 2006-
HB 7175 Vessels




     Effective 07/01/06

328.64(1)

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is directed to 



provide a form for vessel owners to notify the Department of the transfer 



of all or part interest in a vessel. 

328.72(15)

Changes are made to the distribution of vessel registration fees and the use 


of those fees. 

Ch. Law 2006-81
SB 258 Farm Labor Vehicles


     Effective 07/01/06

316.003(62)

The term “farm labor vehicle” is defined as any vehicle equipped and used 


for the transportation of nine or more migrant or seasonal farm workers, to 


or from a place of employment. The term does not include vehicles 



carrying members of the immediate family of the owner or driver; vehicles 


operated by a common carrier or any carpool.

316.622(1)

An owner of a farm labor vehicles is responsible for ensuring that the 



vehicle conforms to federal safety standards. 

316.622(2)

On or after January 1, 2008, farm labor vehicles with a gross vehicle 



weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less must be equipped with a seat belt at 


each passenger position. 

316.622(3)

Farm labor vehicles must display a sticker indicating that it has been 



inspected pursuant to s. 450.33. 

316.622(4)

The owner of a farm labor vehicle is required to post notification in the 



vehicle that passengers are to fasten their seatbelts. The Department of 



Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall create a standard notification. 

316.622(5) & (6)
If a passenger does not wear a seat belt, it does not constitute negligence 



on the part of the owner of the vehicle if the vehicle is otherwise in 



compliance with this section. 

316.622(7)

A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as 


provided in s. 318.18(16). 

316.622(8)

The Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles shall provide the 



Department of Business and Professional Regulation each quarter a copy 



of each crash report involving a farm labor vehicle. 

318.18(16)

A violation of s. 316.622(3) or (4) will result in a $100 fine.  A violation 



of s. 316.622(1) or (2) will result in a $200 fine. 

318.21(15)

The proceeds from the fines described in s. 316.18(16) shall be remitted to 


the law enforcement agency that issues the citation for a violation of s. 



316.622. The funds must be used for continued education and enforcement 


of s. 316.622 and other related safety measures contained in chapter 316. 

Ch. Law 2006-169
SB 460 Specialty License Plates


     Effective 07/01/06

320.08058(16)(a)
Proceeds from the sale of the Police Athletic League license plate shall be 



distributed to the State of Florida Association of Police Athletic/Activities 



Leagues, Inc.  The league may use a maximum of 15 percent of such fees 



for administrative costs and a maximum of 10 percent to market and 



promote the plate. 

320.08068(4)

The annual use fee for the Motorcycle Specialty plate is raised to $20.  



The Blind Services Foundation of Florida is added as an authorized 



recipient of 20 percent of the annual use fee. 

Ch. Law 2006-44
SB 738 Voluntary Contributions


     Effective 07/01/06

320.02(16)(d)

Applicants for a motor vehicle registration will be permitted to make a 



contribution to the Miami Heart Research Institute, Inc. 

Ch. Law 2006-238
SB 1076 DUI Courses



     Effective 07/01/06

322.292(4)

All DUI education courses must utilize face-to-face instruction. 

Ch. Law 2006-203
SB 1322 Driver License Suspension

     Effective 10/01/06

562.11(1)(a)2.

A court may order the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 


to withhold the issuance of or suspend the driver license or driving 




privilege of any person who sells, gives, serves or permits to be served 



alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age. 

322.057(1)

The driver license suspension authorized in s. 562.11 shall be for not less 



than 3 months or more than 6 months for the first violation and one year 



for any subsequent violation. 

322.057(2)

The court may direct the department to issue a driver license restricted to 



business or employment purposes to a person who is otherwise qualified. 

Ch. Law 2006-240
SB 1450 Donate Organs License Plate

     Effective 07/01/06

320.08056(4) &
The Donate Organs-Pass It On license plate is created.  The $25 annual 320.08058

use fee shall be distributed to the Transplant Foundation, Inc. to provide 



statewide grants for patient services. 

Ch. Law 2006-241
SB 1614 National Guard License Plates

    Effective 

320.0846(3)

The sunset provision for one free license plate for eligible National Guard 



members is removed. 
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